RSC Names New Fellows; NAE Elects Rodney Ewing


Left to right: Graham Pearson; Dominique Weis; Maryse Lassonde, President of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC); and Jamal Deen, President of the Academy of Science of the RSC.

Dominique Weis (Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, the University of British Columbia, Canada) and David Graham Pearson (Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Alberta, Canada) were inducted as Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada at the society’s Induction and Awards Ceremony on 18 November 2016 in Kingston, Ontario (Canada).

Founded in 1882, the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) is the senior national body grouping distinguished Canadian scholars, artists and scientists. It comprises the Academies of Arts, Humanities, and Sciences of Canada. Its mission is to recognize scholarly research and artistic excellence, to advise governments and organizations, and to promote a culture of knowledge and innovation in Canada and with other national academies around the world. It consists of nearly 2,000 fellows—men and women who are selected by their peers for outstanding contributions in the natural and social sciences, arts, and humanities.

We reproduce Dominque and Graham’s respective citations below.

“Dominique Weis is internationally recognized for her insightful research on the chemical and isotopic composition of Earth’s mantle with major impact on our understanding of the world’s major large igneous provinces, mantle plumes and arcs, including Kerguelen Archipelago, Hawaiian Islands, and Cascades. Her research has elucidated a crucial relationship between ocean island composition and deep mantle processes. Her work crosses traditional domains of Earth science to encompass pioneering studies tracking the source and fate of metals in the environment.”

“Graham Pearson is a world-leading expert on the origin of deep continental roots and the diamonds they host. His research has transformed our knowledge of how continents form. Pearson’s pioneering work on diamonds has revolutionized our understanding of when and where diamonds form and is leading a new paradigm of where Earth’s deep water is stored. Graham holds one of Canada’s prestigious Canada Excellence Research Chairs.”


Rodney E. Ewing

In February 2017, the National Academy of Engineering (USA) announced that Rodney C. Ewing (founding editor of Elements and a professor at Stanford University, USA) was elected as a member to the academy. Election to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is among the highest professional distinctions. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing / implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.” Rod was elected in recognition for his research on “the long-term behavior of complex ceramic materials to assess their suitability for engineered nuclear waste sequestration.” He, along with the other individuals in the newly elected class, will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C. in October 2017.