Burns, Grew, and Hazen Elected as Foreign Honorary Members of the Russian Mineralogical Society

DOI: 10.2138/gselements.14.1.67

At its 200th Anniversary Meeting in St. Petersburg (Russia), held 10–13 October 2017, the Russian Mineralogical Society elected Peter C. Burns, Henry Massman Professor at the University of Notre Dame (Indiana, USA); Edward S. Grew, Research Professor at the University of Maine (USA); and Robert M. Hazen, Senior Staff Scientist of the Geophysical Laboratory (Washington D.C., USA) and Executive Director of the Deep Carbon Observatory, as Foreign Honorary Members of the society.

Peter Burns

Burns was elected for his “outstanding contributions to mineralogy and crystallography, especially in the field of uranium minerals.” Previous awards for Burns include the Peacock, Young Scientist, and Hawley Medals from the Mineralogical Association of Canada and the MSA Award from the Mineralogical Society of America. Burns is currently President of the International Mineralogical Association.

Edward S. Grew

Grew was elected for “outstanding contributions to mineralogy and geochemistry of boron and beryllium and long-term fruitful collaborations with Russian mineralogists.” These collaborations began in 1972 with Grew’s participation as an exchange scientist on Soviet Antarctic Expeditions and continued with participation in interacademy exchanges. Grew is the author of over 170 articles and editor of the MSA’s Reviews of Mineralogy and Geochemistry volumes on boron (1993, volume 33) and beryllium (2002, volume 50). The Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland awarded him the Collins Medal.

Robert M. Hazen

Hazen was elected for “outstanding contributions to crystal chemistry of minerals under extreme conditions and theories of mineral evolution and ecology.” Hazen is author of more than 400 articles and 25 books. He received the 2016 Roebling Medal, the MSA Award, and the Distinguished Public Service Medal from the Mineralogical Society of America, as well as the Ipatieff Prize from the American Chemical Society.

Founded in 1817 as the Mineralogical Society of Saint Petersburg, the Russian Mineralogical Society is the oldest of the still-active national mineralogical societies (Elements, v11 p271 2015). The society’s motto “Mineralogy in all the space of this word” expresses its broad definition of mineralogy to include not only professional mineralogists but also amateurs and others whose interest in minerals has been aroused by their beauty, relevance to other sciences, or practical use. Over the course of its 200 year history, the society has recognized 145 mineralogists worldwide as Foreign Honorary Members.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.