v14n6 People in the News

American Geophysical Union 2018 Fellows

The American Geophysical Union (AGU) announced its 2018 Fellows, an honor given to individual AGU members who have made exceptional scientific contributions and gained prominence in their respective fields of Earth and space sciences. The 2018 class of 62 elected AGU Fellows includes 13 geoscientists who are also members of an Elements participating society.


American Crystallographic Association Triennial Martin J. Buerger Award

The American Crystallographic Association (ACA) gave its triennial Martin J. Buerger Award to Frank C. Hawthorne of the University of Manitoba (Canada). The award recognizes scientists who have made contributions of exceptional distinction in areas of interest to the ACA. During his career, Frank Hawthorne has studied a wide range of crystalline materials using diffraction techniques to study structure topology and long-range order, and spectroscopic techniques to probe short-range order. He was cited for his work on the topology of bond arrangements in crystals and its relation to structure stability and thermodynamic properties of inorganic solids, for clarifying the role of hydrogen in controlling dimensional polymerization in minerals, and for greatly improving our general understanding of the factors that affect the structural architecture and chemical compositions of minerals. Frank Hawthorne is a Companion of the Order of Canada, a Life Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and a Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

A celebration party at the Bruker Analytical X-ray Systems (AXS) Corporation Booth, which took place at the 68th ACA Annual Meeting held 20–24 July 2018 in Toronto (Canada). Left to right: Frank Hawthorne (University of Manitoba, Canada), Sue Byram (of Bruker AXS), George (Dr. SHELX) Sheldrick (University of Göttingen, Denmark), Maxwell Day (University of Manitoba) and Elena Sokolova (University of Manitoba).

Geological Society of America's 2018 Medal Awards

Kent C. Condie

The Penrose Medal, established in 1927 by R.A.F. Penrose Jr., is the Geological Society of America’s oldest and most prestigious award. It is awarded in recognition of eminent research in pure geology, for outstanding original contributions for achievements that mark a major advance in the science of geology. Kent C. Condie (New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, USA) was awarded the 2018 Penrose Medal in recognition of his significant contributions to our understanding of what happened during the Precambrian, specifically addressing the origin and evolution of the continents and how Earth evolved during this period.

Jay Quade

The Arthur L. Day Medal was established in 1948 and is awarded to recognize outstanding distinction in the application of physics and chemistry to the solution of geologic problems. Jay Quade (University of Arizona, USA) was awarded the 2018 Arthur L. Day Medal in recognition of his pioneering isotopic methods to address major questions in tectonics, global climate change, and evolution.

Calvin F. Miller

The Mineralogy, Geochemistry, Petrology, and Volcanology (MGPV) Division of the Geological Society of America presented Calvin F. Miller (Vanderbilt University, USA) with its 2018 MGPV Distinguished Geological Career Award. This award is given to individuals who, throughout their career, has made distinguished contributions in one or more of the following fields of research: mineralogy, geochemistry, petrology, volcanology, with emphasis on multidisciplinary, field-based contributions. Miller’s multidisciplinary and collaborative research combines field and laboratory work to investigate magmas, magmatic processes, and their products.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.