Elements Covers

Posts by Elements Magazine

IMA 2016 Mineral of the Year: Merelaniite

The International Mineralogical Association is pleased to announce that the Mineral of the Year award for 2016 goes to merelaniite. This mineral was discovered in collector specimens from the Merelani region in northeastern Tanzania, and investigated by John A. Jaszczak (Michigan Technological University, Houghton, USA), Michael S. Rumsey (Natural History Museum, London, UK), Luca Bindi (Università di Firenze, Florence, Italy), Stephen A. Hackney (Michigan Technological University), Michael A. Wise (National Museum of Natural History, Washington DC, USA), Chris J. Stanley (Natural History Museum, London), and John Spratt (Natural History Museum, London).

Read More

RSC Names New Fellows; NAE Elects Rodney Ewing

Dominique Weis (Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, the University of British Columbia, Canada) and David Graham Pearson (Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Alberta, Canada) were inducted as Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada.

The National Academy of Engineering (USA) announced that Rodney C. Ewing was elected as a member to the academy.

Read More

AWG Outstanding Educator Award — Barbara Dutrow

Barbara (Barb) Dutrow, the Adolphe G. Gueymard Professor of Geology at Louisiana State University (USA), has received the 2016 Outstanding Educator Award from the American Women in Geosciences, this organization’s premier professional award. The award honors women who are well-­established college or university teachers who have played a significant role in the education and support of geoscientists within and beyond the classroom, in advancing the persistence of females and underrepresented minorities in geoscience careers, and in raising the general profile of the geosciences. The award was presented to Barb at the September 2016 Geological Society of America meeting in Denver (Colorado, USA).

Read More

GeoCUR 2016 Undergraduate Research Mentor Award — Wendy Bohrson

Wendy Bohrson, Professor of Geological Sciences at Central Washington University (USA), has been awarded the 2016 Undergraduate Research Mentor Award by the Geoscience Division of the Council on Undergraduate Research (GeoCUR). This annual award recognizes not only exceptional
ability in maintaining good student–faculty relations but also in developing innovative approaches to undergraduate-level research.

Read More

2015 Carnegie Mineralogical Award – George Harlow

The Carnegie Museum of Natural History (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA) is pleased to announce that Dr. George E. Harlow (American Museum of Natural History in New York City, USA) is the winner of the 2015 Carnegie Mineralogical Award. The award was presented by Eric Dorfman, Director of the Carnegie Museum of Natural History, during the Saturday night Awards Banquet at the 2016 Tucson Gem and Mineral Show (Arizona, USA). The Carnegie Mineralogical Award honors outstanding contributions in mineralogical preservation, conservation, and education and is considered one of the most prestigious awards in the field of mineralogy.

Read More