Elements Covers

People In the News

v15n4 People in the News

Professor Donald Bruce Dingwell, Director of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at the University of Munich (Germany), has been awarded the Volcanology and Igneous Petrology (VIP) Career Achievement Award from the Geological Association of Canada (GAC) for his lifelong contributions to volcanology and igneous petrology.

Read More

v14n3 People in the News

Barbara L. Dutrow, Adolphe G. Gueymard Professor of Geology at the Louisiana State University (USA), was elected to the Board of Governors of the Gemological Institute of America (GIA). Frank C. Hawthorne, Distinguished Professor at the University of Manitoba (Canada) was appointed a Companion of the Order of Canada on 29 December 2017.

Read More

Burns, Grew, and Hazen Elected as Foreign Honorary Members of the Russian Mineralogical Society

At its 200th Anniversary Meeting in St. Petersburg (Russia), held 10–13 October 2017, the Russian Mineralogical Society elected Peter C. Burns, Henry Massman Professor at the University of Notre Dame (Indiana, USA); Edward S. Grew, Research Professor at the University of Maine (USA); and Robert M. Hazen, Senior Staff Scientist of the Geophysical Laboratory (Washington D.C., USA) and Executive Director of the Deep Carbon Observatory, as Foreign Honorary Members of the society.

Read More

IMA 2016 Mineral of the Year: Merelaniite

The International Mineralogical Association is pleased to announce that the Mineral of the Year award for 2016 goes to merelaniite. This mineral was discovered in collector specimens from the Merelani region in northeastern Tanzania, and investigated by John A. Jaszczak (Michigan Technological University, Houghton, USA), Michael S. Rumsey (Natural History Museum, London, UK), Luca Bindi (Università di Firenze, Florence, Italy), Stephen A. Hackney (Michigan Technological University), Michael A. Wise (National Museum of Natural History, Washington DC, USA), Chris J. Stanley (Natural History Museum, London), and John Spratt (Natural History Museum, London).

Read More

RSC Names New Fellows; NAE Elects Rodney Ewing

Dominique Weis (Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, the University of British Columbia, Canada) and David Graham Pearson (Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Alberta, Canada) were inducted as Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada.

The National Academy of Engineering (USA) announced that Rodney C. Ewing was elected as a member to the academy.

Read More