

Geochemical Society

www.geochemsoc.org

THANK YOU VOLUNTEERS!

What we do at the Geochemical Society, day after day, to deliver on our mission to impact the direction of geochemistry at a global level is only possible through the Herculean efforts of our volunteers. Thank you!

The following volunteers complete terms at the end of June 2015; an asterisk denotes committee chair. Visit www.geochemsoc.org/society/committeesandpersonnel for full committee rosters.

2015 Program Committee

Jim Hendry (University of Saskatchewan, Canada) Bill Hart (Miami University, USA)

2015 Award Nomination Committee

Bridget Bergquist (University of Toronto, Canada) **Steve Shirey** (Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution of Washington, USA)

2015 V.M. Goldschmidt Award Committee

Weidong Sun (Guangzhou Institution, China) Terry Plank (Columbia University, USA)

2015 F.W. Clarke Award Committee

*Ros Rickaby (University of Oxford, UK)
Yuichiro Ueno (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)

2015 C.C. Patterson Award Committee

Fumio Inagaki (Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Japan)

Kliti Grice (Curtin University, Australia)

2015 Geochemical Fellows Committee

Trevor Ireland (Australian National University) **Kei Hirose** (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)

2015 Alfred Treibs Award Committee

Ann Pearson (Harvard University, USA) Mark Pagani (Yale University, USA)

GEOCHEMSOC.ORG PUBLICATIONS AND PROGRAMS YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT

Special Publication Series

The first seven volumes, more than 160 articles, of the Geochemical Society's *Special Publication Series* are available available as free PDF downloads.

Meeting Assistance Program

Each year the Geochemical Society provides individual grants of up to US\$2000 each to attend sessions or symposia at any scientific conference of geochemical relevance.

Introductory Student Membership Program

This program grants a two-year Geochemical Society membership to qualifying students in under-represented countries. These have all the benefits of membership, including a print subscription to *Elements* magazine and online access to the entire *Elements* magazine archive.

Check out these and other resources at geochemsoc.org

2016 AWARD NOMINATIONS

Geochemists want and need recognition for their work. Awards help to inspire individuals to do their best. Awards set the bar for others to match or exceed. Your participation in the awards program, either by being a nominator or by writing a supporting letter of recommendation, benefits both the nominee and the geochemical community. Please take the time to highlight the accomplishments of your valued colleagues by nominating them. With your help, we can ensure that the award committees have a diverse and deserving pool of candidates.



The V.M. Goldschmidt Medal is awarded for major achievements in the fields of geochemistry or cosmochemistry, consisting either of a single outstanding contribution or of a series of publications that have had great influence in these fields.



The F.W. Clarke Medal is awarded to a scientist near the start of their career for a single outstanding contribution in geochemistry or cosmochemistry, published either as a single paper or a series of papers on a single topic.



The C.C. Patterson Medal is awarded for a recent innovative breakthrough of fundamental significance in environmental geochemistry, particularly in service of society, consisting of either a single outstanding contribution or a short series of papers published within the last decade.



The Alfred Treibs Medal is awarded by the Organic Geochemistry Division of the GS for major achievements in organic geochemistry.



The GS/EAG Geochemical Fellows Award is bestowed upon outstanding scientists who have made a major contribution in the field of geochemistry.

Make a nomination at

www.geochemsoc.org/awards/makeanomination.htm

Nomination Deadline: October 31, 2015

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR 2016 OFFICERS

The Nominations Committee of the Geochemical Society is seeking potential nominees for the positions of Vice-President and two directors to begin on 1 January 2016. The potential nominees should have established reputations of leadership in geochemistry and be willing to devote considerable time and effort to the work of the society. Suggestions may be communicated by 31 July 2015, to any member of the 2016 Nominations Committee or to the GS business office. More information regarding the duties and responsibilities of board positions can be found on the Geochemical Society website.

GEOCHEMICAL SOCIETY BUSINESS OFFICE

Seth Davis, Chief Operating Officer Kathryn Hall, Administrative Assistant

Washington University in St. Louis Earth and Planetary Sciences, CB 1169 One Brookings Drive Saint Louis, MO 63130-4899 USA Email: gsoffice@geochemsoc.org Phone: 314-935-4131 Fax: 314-935-4121 Website: www.geochemsoc.org Facebook: www.facebook.org/ geochemsoc Geochemical News: www.multibriefs.com/briefs/gs/



GOLDSCHMIDT2015 25TH ANNIVERSARY



In honor of the 25th anniversary of the Goldschmidt conference, a series of 25 special anniversary talks linked to each theme will highlight the greatest achievements over the past quarter century

and a vision of where the specific geochemical field may be going

The speakers will aim to give insightful overviews across the whole

of their geochemical field, and motivate all of us to explore new

research opportunities to advance geochemistry.

We look forward to seeing you there.





AWARDS TO BE PRESENTED AT GOLDSCHMIDT 2015

EUROPEAN ASSOCIATION OF GEOCHEMISTRY



UREY MEDAL: **Albrecht W. Hofmann** (Max-Planck-Institut für Chemie, Germany)



SCIENCE INNOVATION AWARD (Werner Stumm Medal): **Philippe Van Cappellen** (University of Waterloo, Canada)*



HOUTERMANS MEDAL: Caroline Peacock (University of Leeds, UK)



DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD: **Christa Göpel** (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, France)

* Medallists are also

their medal.

named Geochemical

Fellows by virtue of

GEOCHEMICAL SOCIETY



GOLDSCHMIDT MEDAL: **Miriam Kastner** (Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA)



PATTERSON MEDAL: **Karen H. Johannesson** (Tulane University, USA)*



2014 PATTERSON MEDAL: **Christopher M. Reddy** (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, USA)*



CLARKE MEDAL: **Anat Shaha**r (Carnegie
Institution of
Washington, USA)



2014 ALFRED TREIBS MEDAL: **Steve Larter** (University of Calgary, Canada)*

GS/EAG



GAST LECTURER:
Ann Pearson
(Harvard University,
USA)

GEOCHEMICAL SOCIETY OF JAPAN



GEOCHEMICAL JOURNAL AWARD: **Haruna Sugahara** (Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology)

SHEN-SU SUN FOUNDATION



SHEN-SU SUN AWARD: **Liping Qin** (University of Science and Technology of China)

EUROPEAN MINERALOGICAL UNION



2014 EMU RESEARCH EXCELLENCE MEDAL: Encarnación Ruiz-Agudo (University of Granada, Spain)

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF GEOCHEMISTRY



2014 EBELMEN AWARD: **Sophie Opfergelt** (Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium)

2015 GS/EAG GEOCHEMICAL FELLOWS



Ariel Anbar (Arizona State University, USA)



Hai Cheng (Xi'an Jiatong University, China and University of Minnesota, USA)



Timothy Elliott (University of Bristol, UK)



Monica M. Grady (Open University, UK)



Erik Hauri (Carnegie Institute of Washington, USA)



Gert de Lange (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)



Timothy W. Lyons (University of California–Riverside, USA)



Kathryn L. Nagy (University of Illinois, USA)



Eiji Ohtani (Tohoku University, Japan)



Holly Stein (Colorado State University, USA)