

The Clay Minerals Society

www.clays.org

THE PRESIDENT'S CORNER

Dear CMS Community,



Prakash B. Malla

Is Georgia on your mind in 2016? Whatever your answer may be, please continue reading. The Clay Minerals Society (CMS) will host its 53rd Annual Meeting, 5–8 June 2016, in Atlanta, Georgia (USA). As a part of the preconference program, you will have a rare opportunity to visit the kaolin mines from which KGa-1 and KGa-2 are procured. About 6 million tons of processed kaolin are produced in Georgia for a variety of uses, and kaolin contributes about 1 billion dollars to the economy of Georgia. A workshop entitled Industrial and Engineering

Applications of Clays will provide the insights you always wished you had (and more) into why and how the properties of clays are manipulated to make them useful in various products and applications. You will also have ample opportunities for networking and fellowship with clay scientists, technologists, and students from around the world. Field trips are planned to Calhoun Critical Zone Observatory (South Carolina) and Stone Mountain (Georgia). Best of all, many technical sessions have been planned where you will be able to learn and share breakthrough research findings in the following topics: industrial minerals; nanoclay and intercalation; contaminant sorption; critical zone clay minerals; clays and tight shales; clays and health; extraterrestrial clays; and the structure and properties of clay. Finally, Atlanta is home to the Centennial Olympics Park, Coca Cola, the CNN Center, the Carter Center, the Martin Luther King National Historical Site, the Fern Bank Museum of Natural History, plus one of the world's largest aquariums. Do not miss the opportunity to experience the unique southern hospitality Georgia has to offer!

Hope to see you in Atlanta.

With best regards,

Prakash B. Malla, PhD President, The Clay Minerals Society Research & Development Thiele Kaolin Company, Sandersville, Georgia (USA)

2015 CMS AWARDEES

The following awards were presented at the 52^{nd} CMS Annual Meeting in Edinburgh, Scotland (UK).



The Marilyn and Sturges W. Bailey Distinguished Member Award: **Dr. R. James Kirkpatrick**, Dean of the College of Natural Science and Professor in the Departments of Geological Sciences and Chemistry, Michigan State University (USA). Jim Kirkpatrick's research uses the combined capabilities of experimental nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy and computational molecular modeling to investigate the structure, dynamics, and energetics of geologically and technologically

significant mineral–fluid systems. Jim was a researcher at Exxon Production Research in Houston (Texas, USA); a postdoctoral researcher in Geological Sciences at Harvard University (Massachusetts, USA); a staff scientist at the Deep Sea Drilling Project at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography (California, USA); and a faculty member to the Department of Geology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Illinois, USA) for 29 years, finishing as the R.E. Grim Professor. Jim received his PhD in geology from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1972.



The Pioneer in Clay Science Award: **Dr. Reinhard Kleeberg**, Senior Scientist at Technical University (TU) Bergakademie Freiberg (Germany). Reinhard Kleeberg heads the X-ray diffraction laboratory at the Mineralogical Institute at TU Freiberg. His research focuses on the advancement of methods in X-ray powder diffraction of complex samples and clay minerals. He contributed to the development of the widely used Rietveld structure program BGMN and its application to clay science. Reinhard

is the only repeat winner of the CMS-organized biennial Reynolds Cup competition in mineral analysis and the only person to have finished in the top three places in all Reynolds Cup competitions (except the 2004 contest, which he organized). In addition to his regular teaching duties, he frequently contributes to workshops and courses in mineral analysis. Reinhard received his PhD in mineralogy from TU Bergakademie in 1990.



The Marion L. and Chrystie M. Jackson Mid-Career Clay Scientist Award: **Dr. Balwant Singh**, Associate Professor in the Department of Environmental Sciences, University of Sydney (Australia). Balwant Singh's research focuses on the interface between soil science and clay mineralogy. A significant body of his recent research is on applied mineralogy, such as trace metal sorption and availability to plants, and on mineral-organic interactions, where knowledge of the soil miner-

alogy is central to understanding the underlying interactions.

2016 CMS ANNUAL MEETING

The 53rd Annual Meeting of the Clay Minerals Society, entitled "Resurgent Clays," will be held 5–8 June 2016 in Atlanta, Georgia (conferences.illinois.edu/CMS2016/).

NOMINATIONS SOUGHT FOR CMS AWARDS

The CMS gives four awards at its annual meetings. See the CMS website for a description of the awards and an overview of the nomination process, www.clays.org. **Nomination deadline for the 2017 awards is 6 March 2016.**

STUDENT RESEARCH GRANTS AND TRAVEL AWARDS

The research grant program is designed to provide partial financial support (up to \$3,000) of masters and doctoral research for graduate students of clay science and technology. The travel grant program is designed to provide partial financial support for graduate students to attend the annual meeting of the Clay Minerals Society and present the results of their research. All student members of the Clay Minerals Society are eligible for the Travel Grant Program. See the CMS website for more information, www.clays.org. **Application deadline is 16 February 2016.**

CMS MEMBERSHIP RENEWAL

Don't forget to renew your membership for 2016!

ELEMENTS FEBRUARY 2016