

The Clay Minerals Society

www.clays.org

THE PRESIDENT'S CORNER



The EuroClay 2019 meeting was held 1–5 July 2019 at the new Congress Center of the Pierre & Marie Curie University (Sorbonne Université) in the center of Paris (France) and was a great success. It was a joint meeting of the European Clay Groups Association (ECGA) together with the 56th annual meeting of the Clay Minerals Society (CMS) and the 6th Mediterranean Clay Meeting (MCM). It was organized by the French

Clay Group (GFA) under the auspices of ECGA and Association Internationale pour l'Etude des Argiles (AIPEA). The co-chairs of the Local Organizing Committee —Maguy Jaber (LAMS-UPMC, Paris), Bruno Lanson (ISTerre, Grenoble), and Erwan Paineau (LPS, Paris-Sud, Orsay)—deserve our heartfelt appreciation.

The International Scientific Committee, representing 24 different countries from all continents of the globe, did a great job in assembling an exciting program that included 24 special sessions. So, with more than 620 registered participants (over 150 of them students), we were able to cover all possible aspects of clay science as arranged around four main themes: (i) crystallography, mineralogy and modelling; (ii) environment and geological processes; (iii) mineral resources, energy, storage; (iv) functionalized clays and archaeology.

As part of the program, recipients of the 2019 CMS awards delivered their plenary lectures:

- Marilyn and Sturges W. Bailey Distinguished Member Award lecture "Memoir of an Illitist" was given by Dennis D. Eberl;
- Marion L. and Chrystie M. Jackson Mid-Career Clay Scientist Award lecture "How microbes break the cryptic manganese cycle to form manganese oxide" – by Colleen M. Hansel;
- George W. Brindley Award Lecture "Crystal structure of defective lamellar minerals and their X-ray identification: Implications for reactivity" – by Bruno Lanson;
- Pioneer in Clay Science Award Lecture "Crystalline and osmotic swelling of clay minerals. Recent advances" – by Laurent J. Michot.
- *George Brown Award* recipient of the Mineralogical Society Clay Minerals Group, Toshihiro Kogure, delivered the plenary lecture "Visualization of clays at the atomic scale".

TThe Clay Minerals Society is now in full preparation for its 57th annual meeting which will be held 15–19 June 2020 at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (Washington, USA). The call for symposia and topical sessions is already open. Please submit your proposals by the 15 October 2019 deadline to the following e-mail address: CMS2020@ pnnl.gov.

One last thought to conclude this column. As a new CMS President, I've looked more attentively into the long history of the CMS and realized that, among more than 60 of my predecessors, I'm only the fourth one residing outside of the US. Even more interestingly, all of those four were elected during the last decade and all of those four are from Europe. This definitely reflects the obvious trend of the society to becoming more and more international, especially in recent years, with over 50% current non-US members. I'm absolutely sure this trend will continue. However, I also notice that of nearly 60 positions on various CMS Standing Committees only 19 are occupied by non-US members. I believe there is a lot of room for improvement and would like to invite more non-US members to volunteer and to participate more actively in various aspects of CMS activities. We have the following CMS Standing Committees, and vacancies are available in all of them:

- Committee on Finance and Budget
- Committee on Council Nominations
- Committee on Committee Nominations
- Committee on Policy and Administration
- Committee on Program Development
- Committee on Awards
- Committee on Contributions and Membership
- Committee on Student Grants
- Committee on Nomenclature
- Committee on Source Clay Minerals
- Committee on Electronic Communication

The CMS, as with any society, is only strong because of the participation of its members. Therefore, I would really encourage all members to volunteer and serve on the CMS committee of your choice.

> Andrey G. Kalinichev (kalinich@subatech.in2p3.fr) President, The Clay Minerals Society

CMS STUDENT AWARDS

In addition to the CMS awards featured in the president's message, there were a number of student awards that were conferred at the EuroClay 2019 meeting.



The following received **Student Travel Grants** to help them cover the cost of attending EuroClay 2019 : Mary Arenberg, Paolo Benavides, Zachery Burton, Nirrit Cohen, Irina Gurova, Ahmad Khan, Lior Levy, Ying Li, Mouafon Mohamed, Agnel Myriam, Xinyi Shen, Zebadiah Teichert, Magdalena Tuchowska, Kh Ashraf Uz Zaman, Doriana Vinci, Jennifer Willemsen, Giovanni Zanoni, Chaoqun Zhang, Guanzheng Zhuang, and Yael Zvulunov. The student with the highest scoring application was Yael Zvulunov; he was awarded the Blair Jones/Jan Flinn Travel Award.

Six students received **Student Research Grants**: Zachery Burton, Timothy Campbell, Bidemi Fashina, Ying Li, Chia-Wei Lin, and Mohamed Mouafon. These grants offer up to \$3,000 to support students' clay-related research. Mohamed Mouafon, who had the highest scoring Research Grant application, received the Robert J. Reynolds, Jr. Award. The application deadline for next year's Student Research Grants will be in February 2020. Students whose research has been supported by a CMS Research Grant will be featured in the upcoming issues of the *Elements* CMS news.