

Geochemical Society

www.geochemsoc.org

ORGANIC GEOCHEMISTRY DIVISION PRESENTS TWO AWARDS

Alfred Treibs Award



Kai-Uwe Hinrichs, Professor of Organic Geochemistry in the Department of Geosciences/MARUM, University of Bremen, Germany received the 2020 Alfred Treibs Award. The award is given for major achievements, over a period of years, in organic geochemistry. Prof. Dr. Hinrichs is recognized for illuminating the interactions between microbes and elucidating microbial processes that impact the solid Earth, over a wide range of spatial and temporal scales.

The OGD hopes to present the medal at the 2021 International Meeting on Organic Geochemistry.

Alfred Treibs (1899–1983) was a chemist who is often recognized as the "father" of organic geochemistry. He worked for 50 years at the Technical University of Munich (Germany) where he conducted ground-breaking research on porphyrins. He published about 140 papers and mentored dozens of students. The Alfred Treibs Award was created in 1979 to honor his contributions to the field.

John Hayes Award



Karen L. Casciotti, Assistant Professor of Earth System Science at Stanford University (USA), will receive the third annual John Hayes Award. The award is given to a mid-career scientist for outstanding accomplishments that draw together multiple fields of investigation to advance biogeochemical science. Prof. Casciotti is recognized for innovative research on the marine nitrogen cycle.

John M. Hayes (1940–2017) always found time and energy to reach out and work with trainees, young investigators, and mid-career scientists. His rigorous research drew from multiple disciplines in a manner that led to novel outcomes. He made major contributions that detailed the timeline for the origin of life, the carbon cycle, and the development and recent change to the global geo-environment. The award was created in 2017 by the Organic Geochemistry Division and a group of his friends, colleagues, and students.

ONLINE WORKSHOP SERIES

The pandemic has disrupted many conferences and seminars, which provide learning and networking opportunities. To help fill the gap caused by the loss of in-person events, the society recently launched a series of online workshops. The programs provided technical skills, teaching strategies, and ways to improve workplace climates. Several of the workshops are archived for on-demand viewing on the GS website. Learn more at geochemsoc.org/events/online-workshops.

VOLUNTEER APPRECIATION

The Geochemical Society thrives thanks to the efforts of many dedicated volunteers. Our sincere gratitude goes to the following GS members whose board and committee terms conclude in 2020.

Board of Directors

- Stephen Parman (Brown University, USA)
- Weidong Sun (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
- Lesley Warren (University of Toronto, Canada)

Award Nomination Committee

- Doug Hammond (University of Southern California, USA)
- Kate Maher (Stanford University, USA)
- Hisayoshi (Yoshi) Yurimoto (Hokkaido University, Japan)

C.C. Patterson Award Committee

- Satoshi Utsunomiya (Kyushu University, Japan)
- Linda Stalker (CSIRO, Australia)

Ethics Committee

- Caroline Peacock (University of Leeds, UK)
- Anat Shahar (Carnegie Institution for Science, USA)
- Meenakshi Wadhwa (Arizona State University, USA)

Finance Committee

• Al Brandon (University of Houston, USA)

F.W. Clarke Award Committee

- Karen Hudson-Edwards (University of Exeter, UK)
- Munir Humayun (Florida State University, USA)

Geochemical News Editors

- Xiaoming Liu (University of North Carolina, USA)
- Yige Zhang (Texas A&M University, USA)

Geochemistry Fellows Committee (Joint Committee with EAG)

- Bjørn Jamtveit (University of Oslo, Norway)
- Adina Paytan (University of California, Santa Cruz, USA)

Joint Publications Committee (with the Meteoritical Society)

• Tina van De Flierdt (Imperial College London, UK)

Nominations Committee

- Sisir Mondal (Jadavpur University, India)
- Helen Williams (University of Cambridge, UK)

Program Committee

- Nicholas Arndt (Université Grenoble Alpes, France)
- Romain Millot (French Geological Survey (BRGM), France)

Strategic Planning Committee

• William Reeburgh (University of California, Irvine, USA)

V.M. Goldschmidt Award Committee

- Janet Hergt (University of Melbourne, Australia)
- Hodaka Kawahata (University of Tokyo, Japan)

RENEW YOUR GS MEMBERSHIP

Geochemical Society members receive *Elements* along with other benefits including *Geochemical News* and registration discounts for Goldschmidt2021. Please take a moment to renew for the coming year on the GS website: http://www.geochemsoc.org. This is also a good time to be sure we have your current address for the magazine or to let us know if you prefer to receive it online only. You can do this on the website or by sending us a message to gsoffice@geochemsoc.org. Happy New Year!