

www.dmg-home.de

German Mineralogical Society

ELECTION RESULTS



Dear Members of the DMG,

Let me take this opportunity to wish all of you a Happy New Year and a successful and prosperous 2008. On 26 November 2007, Michael Bau, Council member from Bremen, and I counted the ballots for the new DMG Council and its committees. I would like to thank all of the 368 members who submitted their votes. The results, with the number of votes, are as follows:

VICE-PRESIDENT for 2008 and therefore PRESIDENT for 2009–2010 – Falko Langenhorst (285)

SECRETARY – Michael Meyer (273) TREASURER – Joachim Hoefs (283)

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- Andreas Pack (255)
- Jutta Zipfel (249)

Andreas Pack is therefore elected for 2008–2009 and Jutta Zipfel for 2009–2010.

EJM CHIEF EDITOR

– Roland Oberhänsli (281)

EDITOR DMG-FORUM

- Michael Burchard (268)

DGK LIAISON OFFICER

- Ulrich Bismayer (279)

VICE DGK LIAISON OFFICER

- Carsten Paulmann (250)

VICE-CHAIRPERSONS for 2008 and therefore CHAIRPERSONS for 2009–2010 for the following sections:

CHEMISTRY, PHYSICS, AND CRYSTALLOGRAPHY OF MINERALS

- Roland Miletich (64)

GEOCHEMISTRY - Harry Becker (83)

PETROLOGY AND PETROPHYSICS

– Astrid Holzheid (80)

Applied and Environmental Mineralogy – Jürgen M. Göske (63)

COMMITTEES

ABRAHAM-GOTTLOB-WERNER MEDAL: Gerhard Brey, Rainer Altherr, Reiner Klemd, Falko Langenhorst, Herbert Palme, Walter Maresch, Hans Keppler, Gregor Markl (282) VIKTOR-MORITZ-GOLDSCHMIDT MEDAL: Björn Winkler, Friedhelm von Blanckenburg, Steve Foley, Susanne Faulhaber, HG Stosch (274)

GEORG-AGRICOLA MEDAL: Thomas Holzapfel, Herbert Pöllmann, Sharon Webb, Klaus Nickel, Jürgen M. Göske (259)

TEACHING AND UNIVERSITY AFFAIRS: Roland Stalder, Astrid Holzheid, Reinhard Fischer, Esther Schmädicke (269) I thank all those who, by casting their ballots, have helped to actively shape the future of the DMG. The DMG will commemorate its 100th anniversary this year during its 86th annual meeting, which will be held in Berlin on 14–17 September 2008. The first circular of the meeting can be found on the homepage of the DMG website. I hope to meet you there. Sincerely yours,

Ulrich Bismayer, President

WINNERS OF THE 2007 AWARDS AND MEDALS



Abraham-Gottlob-Werner Medal in Silver to Herbert Kroll

The Werner Medal in Silver is the highest honor bestowed by the DMG for basic research. It is given in recognition of outstanding scientific work. The 2007 medalist is Prof. Dr. Herbert Kroll, whose work involves

the study of complex solid solutions, including their stability fields, the systematics of their lattice parameters, structures, thermodynamic properties, synthesis techniques, and order/disorder behavior. His fundamental research on feldspars has had a strong impact on our understanding of their formation and physicochemical behavior. The results have been published in more than 130 papers and book chapters.



Victor-Moritz-Goldschmidt Award to Thomas Zack

The Goldschmidt Award is given to honor outstanding young researchers. The 2007 award was bestowed on Dr. Thomas Zack for his research on trace-element signatures and their application to petrological problems.

Thomas Zack developed a new trace-element geothermometer, which is being increasingly used by the petrological community.



Paul-Ramdohr Award to Katja Schmidt

The Paul-Ramdohr Award is given to recognize outstanding presentations at the annual DMG meeting by young graduate or postgraduate students. Katja Schmidt is honored for her talk entitled "First Direct Sampling of Supercritical Vapour Phase Fluids at the Mid Atlantic,"

which she delivered at the 17th Goldschmidt Conference in Cologne, Germany. Katja is now a PhD student and research associate at Jacobs University Bremen.

PEOPLE IN THE NEWS



Award to a Young Mineral Physicist Presented by a Nobel Prize Winner

Innokenty Kantor, who is 27 years old and recently obtained his PhD from Bayerisches Geoinstitut, Bayreuth, Germany, received the E.ON Bavaria Cultural Award for 2007 during a celebration in Munich, Germany, in October. He was recognized for his outstanding experimental work on the structure and properties of ferropericlase under high pressure. This mineral is one of the main constituents of the Earth's lower mantle. In his

thesis, Kantor demonstrated that the effect of spin pairing on the properties of ferropericlase is much more subtle than previously believed. The award, which includes a cash prize of 4000 Euros, was presented to the young scientist by Nobel Prize winner in chemistry Robert Huber.



Albert Maucher Award to David Dolejš

Dr. David Dolejš, a postdoctoral experimental geochemist at Bayerisches Geoinstitut, Bayreuth, Germany, received the Albert Maucher Award for 2007 from the German Science Foundation (DFG). The award, which includes 10,000 Euros in funding, recognizes young scientists who have achieved outstanding results in the

geosciences. David's research has focused on experimental and theoretical approaches to geochemical processes in the Earth's crust and upper mantle. By conducting experimental studies of fluoride–silicate melting equilibria, he has been able to identify the differentiation paths of granitic and rhyolitic magmas containing fluorine. He has also described mechanisms that control the abundances of the most abundant halogens in crustal silicic melts. More recently, he has concentrated on the stabilities of aqueous complexes in high-temperature aqueous fluids, has developed thermodynamic models and algorithms for complex systems, and is involved in several projects on geochemical cycling of light elements at very high pressures. Dolejš earned his BSc and MSc from Charles University in Prague and his PhD, with dean's honor list, from McGill University in Montréal.

ELEMENTS FEBRUARY 2008