

www.ehu.es/sem

Sociedad Española de Mineralogía

FROM THE PRESIDENT



In January 2007, when I became the president of the Spanish Mineralogical Society, I proposed to the Executive Committee that we join the *Elements* consortium. One year later, it is a great pleasure for me to introduce our Society to members of other societies in the *Elements* family.

Although Spanish scientific research has a long tradition, it was not until the second half of the 1980s,

after the country's transition to democracy, that a real scientific research system (policies for promoting scientific research, regulations for state funding via national research agencies, a system of evaluation agencies, etc.) was established. In this sense, Spanish research in mineralogy, petrology, and geochemistry can be considered young. During the last few decades the Spanish scientific community has witnessed noteworthy achievements in these fields, and the Sociedad Española de Mineralogía (SEM) has, without a doubt, played an important role in this effort. Founded in 1975 by a group of researchers, university professors, and amateurs, the Society organizes annual conferences and seminars to promote research and teaching in mineralogy, petrology, and geochemistry. The SEM Bulletin was launched in 1978 and published scientific papers until 2003, when the Society joined the European Journal of Mineralogy and launched Macla, a new journal containing scientific news, abstracts, and reviews.

From the beginning, one of the main objectives of our Society has been to support young researchers and to further their training by organizing seminars, workshops, scientific awards, and special publications. In 2003, the Society launched Seminarios de la SEM, a special publication series in which reviews and invited lectures from seminars for young researchers are published.

Currently the Spanish Mineralogical Society has over 230 members. We are all convinced that by joining *Elements*, we inaugurate a new stage in the history of our Society. Since it was launched in 2005, *Elements* has forged a new style for presenting scientific information, and we are pleased to become part of this editorial initiative. We look forward to a fruitful collaboration with all the societies in the *Elements* family.

Manuel Prieto SEM President

TWENTY-SEVENTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SPANISH MINERALOGICAL SOCIETY

The 27th meeting of the Spanish Mineralogical Society was held at the Geology Department of the University of Jaen between 11 and 14 September 2007. The meeting, which takes place each year at different places in Spain, was convened by Dr. Juan José Jiménez Millán and brought together over 110 scientists from Spain, France, United Kingdom, Portugal, Italy, Chile, Turkey, Slovenia, and Hungary. Among the activities were a thematic seminar and a two-day session with oral and poster communications. The last day of the meeting was devoted to a field trip focused on the worldrenowned Ba-Pb-Zn-Cu-(Ag) vein district of Linares-La Carolina and the cultural heritage of the region, with special emphasis on environmental problems associated with the old mining district and on conservation techniques for historic buildings and monuments.

SEM SEMINAR

SEMINARIOS DE LA SOCIEDAD ESPAÑOLA DE MINERALOGÍA

VOLUMEN 3

Diagenesis and
Low-Temperature Metamorphism.
Theory, Methods and Regional Aspects

Jaén, 11 y 12 de septiembre de 2007

Among the activities at the SEM annual meeting was a one-day seminar entitled "Diagenesis and Low-Temperature Metamorphism: Theory, Methods and Regional Aspects." The seminar was conducted by specialists like Richard Bevins (National Museum of Wales), María Dolores Ruíz (University of Malaga), Blanca Bauluz (University of Zaragoza), María Isabel Abad (University of Jaen), Olivier Vidal (Université Joseph Fourier), Francisco Javier Huertas

(Estación Experimental de El Zaidín-CSIC), Norbert Clauer (CNRS-Strasbourg), and Diego Morata (University of Chile). The lectures given at the seminar have been collated in an SEM-edited monograph (J.J. Millán and F. Nieto, eds.), which is being distributed to society members and is available for purchase from the Spanish Mineralogical Society. This is the third monograph in the SEM Seminar series, which includes the titles Geoquímica Isotópica Aplicada al Medio Ambiente (L. Barbero and M.P. Mata, eds.; in Spanish) and Utilización de Rocas y Minerales Industriales (M.A. García del Cura and J.C. Cañaveras, eds., in Spanish).

SEM YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARDS

SEM is committed to the promotion of excellence in research and, since 1992, encourages young scientists presenting a communication (oral or poster) at the annual meeting of the Society to apply for an SEM Young Scientist Award. The 2007 awardees were Esther Mateo González, from the Earth Sciences Department of the University of Zaragoza ("New strategies to synthesize and characterize zeolites: Millimetric monocrystals and micrometric membranes") and Vanesa Nieto Moreno, from the Andalusian Institute of Earth Sciences ("Mineralogical and geochemical indicators of climatic variability: Calibration and recent sedimentary record from the western Mediterranean").



From left to right, Manuel Prieto, President of SEM, Young Scientist Awardees Vanesa Nieto and Esther Mateo, and meeting convener J.J. Jiménez

MIR AND MIN-GRO WORKSHOP IN LA PALMA, CANARY ISLANDS (SPAIN)

The Marie Curie European Research and Training Networks MIR (Mineral–Fluid Interface Reactivity) and MIN-GRO (Mineral Nucleation and Growth Kinetics) held a joint workshop on November 21–26 entitled "Fundamentals of Thermodynamics and Kinetics of Water–Mineral Reactions." The workshop was organized by the Crystal Growth Group at the University of Oviedo (Spain) and by the Experimental Geochemistry and Biogeochemistry Group at the Université Paul Sabatier (France).

Fifty-two participants (mainly young researchers) joined the workshop from the universities of Oslo, Iceland, Copenhagen, Leeds, Oviedo, Münster, Paul Sabatier, and the University College of London. The workshop included lectures and computer demonstrations by P. Agaard (Oslo), M. Prieto (Oviedo), A. Putnis (Münster), J. Schott (Toulouse), D. Tomasso (London), R. Grau-Crespo (London), L. Benning (Leeds), J. Rodríguez-Blanco (Leeds), and E. Oelkers (Toulouse).

ELEMENTS 51 FEBRUARY 2008