

The Clay Minerals Society

www.clays.org

THE PRESIDENT'S CORNER

This is the last time I am writing a 'President's Corner', and my term of office will be over by the time you read this. At the business meeting of The Clay Minerals Society in Seville on June 10, during the Trilateral Meeting with the Spanish and Japanese clay societies, I will hand over the gavel to Paul Schroeder. It seems no time at all since I received the gavel from Andy Thomas, and it has been a great privilege and honour to be the first person from outside North America to be president of the Society. It is heartening to see the highly international nature of CMS continuing. A number of members worldwide are standing for Council, and another member from outside North America is already in line to be president in two years – Peter Komadel, from the Slovak Academy of Sciences.

I have been very fortunate in working alongside a dedicated team: the Executive Committee, the office staff, the journal editors, plus all the committee members who have worked for the benefit of the Society. I wish my successor, Paul Schroeder, a successful year as president and urge all members to play their part in keeping The Clay Minerals Society the valued, productive and friendly society that it is.

Derek Bain President, The Clay Minerals Society The Macaulay Institute Aberdeen, UK d.bain@macaulay.ac.uk

FROM ONE PRESIDENT TO ANOTHER



Incoming President Paul Schroeder (right) presenting the Presidential Plate Award to President Derek Bain in appreciation of his hard work and dedication as CMS President in 2009– 2010. The presentation was made at the annual meeting banquet in Seville, Spain.



CMS outgoing President Derek Bain (right) "passing the gavel" to incoming President Paul Schroeder at the annual meeting in Seville, Spain, 6–11 June 2010

265

A full report on the Trilateral Meeting on Clays in Seville will follow in the next issue of *Elements*.

NEW FACES ON COUNCIL

Four new councilors were recently elected to serve the usual three-year term of office on Council. These persons are Gary W. Beall, Paul H. Nadeau, Robert J. Pruett, and Andreas C. Scheinost, and they, together with Vice President–elect Peter Komadel, make up this year's new faces.

Gary Beall received his BS in chemistry from Tarleton State University in 1972 and an MS and PhD in physical chemistry from Baylor University in 1974 and 1975, respectively. His first job was at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, where he conducted research on the environmental fate of actinides originating from the civilian nuclear fuel cycle. He then worked in industry for 21 years. The research he conducted during this period was centered on the application of surface-modified clay nanoparticles in paint, cosmetics, grease, pharmaceuticals, cat litter, water treatment, and polymers. He is currently associate professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and director of the Center for Nanophase Research at Texas State University.

Paul Nadeau received his degrees from Boston College (BSc) and Dartmouth College (PhD). He studied mineralogy with Cornelius S. Hurlbut and clay mineralogy with Robert C. Reynolds. Paul performed postdoctoral research at the Macaulay Institute in Aberdeen, Scotland. He joined Statoil in 1986 as a specialist in global exploration, working on basin evaluation and petroleum systems analysis. In 2000 he was awarded the Schlumberger Medal by the Mineralogical Society. In 1997 he received the G. Brindley Lecture Award from the Clay Minerals Society and in 2009 the G. Brown Lecture Award from the Clay Minerals Group. Paul served previously as a CMS councillor, as well as on the Bailey Award Committee and the Awards Committee. He currently serves on the Petroleum Geoscience editorial board (1999–present).

Bob Pruett was educated at the University of Wisconsin–Madison (BSc) and Indiana University–Bloomington (MS, PhD). Since 1999, he has been working for Imerys, but has also worked for ECC International and The Georgia Kaolin Company, Springfield, New Jersey. His research and professional interests include industrial mineralogy, with a focus on the geology, processing, and properties of kaolin. Bob has been a member of CMS since 1985. He is also a member of the Society of Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration (SME); the Mineralogical Society of America; the American Chemical Society; and the Geological Society of America. He previously served CMS on various committees and is currently an associate editor of *Clays and Clay Minerals*. He is also actively involved with SME.

Andreas Scheinost studied in Munich, Germany (MSc), and at the Université Joseph Fourier, Grenoble, France (PhD). He is currently head of the Molecular Structures Division, Institute of Radiochemistry, Forschungszentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (FZD), Dresden, Germany (2003–present), and head of the Rossendorf Beamline at ESRF, Grenoble, France (2004–present). His research and professional interests include the environmental mineralogy of contaminated soils and sediments, clay minerals and retention mechanisms for inorganic contaminants including radionuclides, and the synchrotron spectroscopic analysis of environmental samples. He has been a member of CMS since 1994 and is also a member of the German Soil Science Society (DBG), the Soil Science Society of America, the Mineralogical Society of America, the European Association of Geochemistry, and the American Chemical Society.

Peter Komadel was educated in physical chemistry at Comenius University, Bratislava, Slovakia, and is now based at the Slovak Academy of Sciences where he is head of the Department of Hydrosilicates. His interests are centered around the characterization and chemical modifications of minerals and admixtures present in the fine fraction of bentonites, layer charge modification of small cations, acid activation, interactions with organic cations, (in)stability and properties of H-smectites, catalytic activity, swelling, and water sorption properties. He has been a member of CMS since 1991 and is actively involved with the Slovak Clay Group and AIPEA. He is an associate editor of *Clays and Clay Minerals*, and *Geologica Carpathica*. He was the 2001 George Brown Lecturer and in 2003 received the Marion L. & Christie C. Jackson Mid-Career Award from the CMS.