

# **Geochemical Society**

#### www.geochemsoc.org

#### **THANK YOU VOLUNTEERS!**

What we do at GS day after day to deliver on our mission to impact the direction of geochemistry at a global level is only possible through the Herculean efforts of our volunteers. Thank you!

#### **2011 BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Samuel Mukasa, President (University of New Hampshire) • Richard Carlson, Vice-President (Carnegie Institution of Washington) • Martin Goldhaber, Past President (United States Geological Survey) • Sam Savin, Treasurer (New College of Florida) • Edwin Schauble, Secretary (University of California Los Angeles) • Elizabeth Canuel, OGD Chair (Virginia Institute of Marine Sciences) • Josef Werne, OGD Secretary (University of Minnesota) • Scott Wood, SP Editor (University of Idaho) • Frank Podosek, GCA Editor (Washington University in St. Louis) • Victoria Bennett, Director (Australian National University) • Simon Turner, Director (Macquarie University) • David Wesolowski, Director (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) • Catherine Chauvel, Director (University of Grenoble) • Derek Vance, Director (University of Bristol) • Richard Walker, Director (University of Maryland)

#### **2011 NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE**

Dominique Weis, CHAIR (University of British Columbia) • Robert Creaser (University of Alberta) • James Farquhar (University of Maryland) • Mark Rehkamper (Imperial College London) • Karen Hudson-Edwards (University of London) • Laurie Reisberg (Nancy)

## 2011 AWARD NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Trevor Ireland, CHAIR (Australian National University) • Harry Elderfield (Cambridge University) • Emi Ito (University of Minnesota) • Albrecht Hofmann (Max-Planck-Institut für Chemie) • Liane Benning (Leeds University) • Eiji Ohtani (Tohoku University)

# 2011 V.M. GOLDSCHMIDT AWARD COMMITTEE

Cindy Lee, CHAIR (Stony Brook University) • Enid Martinez (Penn State University) • Paul Asimow (Caltech) • Victoria Bennett (Australian National University) • Francis Albarède (Lyon) • Barbara Sherwood Lollar (University of Toronto) • Eric Oelkers (LMTG)

## 2011 F.W. CLARKE AWARD COMMITTEE

Julie Bryce, CHAIR (University of New Hampshire) • Sung Hi Choi (Korea Polar Research Institute) • Jiwchar Ganor (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev) • Suzanne Golding (University of Queensland) • Rebecca Lange (University of Michigan) • Patricia Dove (Virginia Tech) • Bernard Bourdon (ETH Zürich)

#### 2011 C. C. PATTERSON AWARD COMMITTEE

Gideon Henderson, CHAIR (Oxford University) • Kenji Mibe (University of Tokyo) • Heileen Hsu-Kim (Duke University) • Alakendra Roychoudhury (University of Stellenbosch) • Ruth Blake (Yale University) • Sidney Hemming (Lamont)

## 2011 GS-EAG GEOCHEMICAL FELLOWS AWARD COMMITTEE

Roberta Rudnick, CHAIR (University of Maryland) • Alexandra Navrotsky (University of California Davis) • Seth Krishnaswami (Physical Research Laboratory) • Judith McKenzie (ETH Zürich) • David Vaughan (University of Manchester) • Mark Norman (Australian National University) • Samuel Mukasa (University of New Hampshire) • Eric Oelkers (LMTG)

#### **2011 OGD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

Elizabeth Canuel, CHAIR (Virginia Institute of Marine Science) • Stuart Wakeham (Skidaway Institute of Oceanography) • H. Rodger Harvey (University of Maryland) • Josef Werne (University of Minnesota) • Roger Summons (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) • Cliff Walters (ExxonMobil Research & Engineering) • Silvio Pantoja (Universidad de Concepción, Chile)

# 2011 ALFRED TREIBS AWARD COMMITTEE

Jaap Sinninghe Damsté, CHAIR (Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research) • Kenneth Peters (Schlumberger Limited) • Marilyn Fogel (Carnegie Institution of Washington) • James Maxwell (University of Bristol) • John Volkman (CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research)

## 2011 BEST PAPER AWARD COMMITTEE

Giuseppe Etiope, CHAIR (Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia) • Simon Brassell (Indiana University) • Carol Arnosti (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

#### **2011 AAAS LIAISON**

Neil Sturchio (University of Illinois at Chicago)



# The 22nd V.M. Goldschmidt Conference Earth in Evolution 24-29 June 2012 | Montréal, Canada

Call for Sessions Deadline: 15 November 2011

List of Sessions Finalized: 30 November 2011

Abstract Submission Opens: 1 December 2011

**Abstract Submission Deadline:** 1 February 2012

Online Registration & Housing Opens: 16 January 2012

Early-bird Registration Deadline: 20 April 2012

#### www.vmgoldschmidt.org

A conference of the Geochemical Society and the European Association of Geochemistry, hosted by GEOTOP and UQAM





#### **CALL FOR EXECUTIVE EDITOR**

Frank Podosek, who has been executive editor of *Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta* for the past 12 years, will retire from this position at the end of 2012. The Geochemical Society and the Meteoritical Society, joint sponsors of the journal, are now looking for a replacement for Frank. Elsevier, which publishes *GCA*, has advertised the position on its website (http://recruitment.elsevier.com/jobs/view/197005-executive-editor-position/). If you are interested in being considered as the next executive editor of *GCA*, please send a resumé and cover letter to the chair of the Joint Publication Committee (JPC) of the two societies, Brigitte Zanda (zanda@mnhn.fr) before December 31, 2011. After the JPC has made its recommendation, the two societies will propose a candidate to Elsevier which will appoint the next executive editor for a three-year term, renewable for a second three-year term.