

Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland

www.minersoc.org

NEW PRESIDENT



As of January 1, Prof. **Jon Davidson** took over as President of the Society. Welcome, Jon.

Jon began his research evaluating the sources and processes which determine the nature of magmatic rocks at arcs. He is recognized for integrating modern geochemical methods with detailed petrology and fieldwork at subduction zones across the world, from the West Indies to

Kamchatka, New Zealand and the Andes. More recently he has developed techniques for isotopically fingerprinting magmatic components at the scale of individual minerals. His research group now focuses on this approach and leads the world in its application.

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR SOCIETY MEDALS

The deadline for making nominations for the Society medals for 2013 is April 27, 2012. Please visit the awards page on the Society website (www.minersoc.org) for details on how to make a nomination. To ease the process this year, a new form has been created which will reduce the workload required.

The **Mineralogical Society-Schlumberger Award** was established with the purpose "to recognize scientific excellence in mineralogy and its applications; mineralogy being broadly defined and reflecting the diverse and worldwide interests and membership of the Society with its various specialist groups. Evidence of such excellence should be in



the form of published work by a currently active scientist. Nominations on behalf of both younger scientists and well established workers would be welcomed. Nominees do not have to be members of the Mineralogical Society."

The **Max Hey Medal** was established "to recognize existing and ongoing research of excellence carried out by young workers, within the fields of Mineralogy, Crystallography, Petrology





or Geochemistry. Evidence of excellence should be in the form of work published in highly regarded, international scientific journals. On the closing date for nominations, candidates must be within 15 years of the award of their first degree, except where there has been a career break, detailed in the nomination, in which case the committee chair may agree to accept nominations from candidates for whom the first degree was awarded more than 15 years previously."

The **Collins Medal** is awarded annually to a scientist who, "during a long and active career, has made an outstanding contribution to pure or applied aspects of mineral sciences and associated studies. Publications, teaching, outreach and other activities leading to the



promotion of mineral sciences, in the broadest sense, will be taken into account in making the award. Nominees do not have to be members of the Mineralogical Society or nationals of Great Britain and Ireland."

The following photos show recent medal awardees during a ceremony at a meeting of the Society's Volcanic and Magmatic Studies Group, from left: Barry Dawson (Collins Medal 2012); Dan Morgan (Max Hey Medal 2011); Madeleine Humphreys (Max Hey Medal 2012). The Mineralogical Society-Schlumberger Award for 2012 will be awarded to Simon Redfern later in 2012.







On the occasion of the Society's annual meeting this year, we will join with several other European societies in the first European Mineralogical Conference, to be held in Frankfurt. Go to http://emc2012.uni-frankfurt.de/ for details.

The First European Mineralogical Conference will be held at the Goethe-University in Frankfurt, Germany, 2-6 September 2012.

planet earth from core to surface

2012
2 - 6 September

european mineralogical conference frankfurt / main germany The contributing societies presently are:

DMG Deutsche Mineralogische Gesellschaft

MinSoc Mineralogical Society of Great Britain & Ireland ÖMG Österreichische Mineralogische Gesellschaft

PTMin Mineralogical Society of Poland RMS Russian Mineralogical Society SEM Sociedad Española de Mineralogía

SFMC Société Française de Minéralogie et de Cristallographie

SIMP Società Italiana di Mineralogia e Petrologia SSMP Swiss Society of Mineralogy and Petrology

14 themes with 35 sessions are now on the website:

15 May 2012

Abstract submission, field trip and early registration will end on:

There will be a series of invited lectures, notably including the acceptance speech of Prof. D. H. Green, recipient of the IMA Medal award.

The scientific committee consists of representatives of each society.

The local scientific committee: Gerhard Brey, Heidi Höfer, Frankfurt' Germany

ELEMENTS 73 FEBRUARY 2012