

The Clay Minerals Society

www.clays.org

THE PRESIDENT'S CORNER

This is my last contribution to the CMS's President's Corner. It is being written just before the 50th Anniversary Annual Meeting of the CMS at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign, Illinois, USA. At the end of this conference, my time as president will be over and Professor Michael A. Velbel, from the Department of Geological Sciences of Michigan State University in East Lansing, Michigan, USA, will take over as the new CMS president. His first full contribution to the President's Corner will appear in the February 2014 issue.

Various factors affect the dates of CMS annual meetings, and there is discussion about holding the meetings in the same month each year. This change is considered desirable and remains among the targets to be achieved. However, more important are the activities described in the Preamble of our Bylaws: the advancement of clay mineral science in all of its branches; the promotion of research in clay mineral science and technology; the increase and diffusion of knowledge of clay mineral science science and technology; and, by its meetings, reports, papers, discussions, and publications, the promotion of scientific interest and inquiry, thereby fostering public welfare and education, providing for informed development of industries and natural resources, addressing environmental issues, and adding to the prosperity and well-being of all people. I wish all CMS members success in these endeavors.

Best wishes, **Peter Komadel**



Peter Komadel (left) handing the President's plate to Michael Velbel

As Peter turns his last President's Corner, I prepare to turn my first. The Clay Minerals Society's 50th Anniversary Annual Meeting was a stunning success—a vibrant meeting that also had the positive feel of a scholarly family reunion. This edition of our CMS page highlights the most recently recognized recipients of Society honors and a first notice of our 2014 annual meeting. Finally, we thank all the energetic clay scientists who serve on CMS standing and ad hoc committees. I add my thanks to these individuals and to the members of the CMS Council and Executive Committee, exemplary volunteers one and all, who have kept the Society moving forward during the last half-century and who are seeing the Society into its next 50 years. I look forward to working with all of you on continuations of past efforts and on new initiatives. Finally, my personal best wishes to Peter Komadel, whose continued wise counsel will be most welcome. Thank you, Peter!

Michael Velbel (velbel@msu.edu) President, The Clay Minerals Society

51st Annual Meeting May 17–21 2014 See page 404

2013 CMS AWARDEES

The following awards were presented at the CMS annual meeting at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.



MARILYN AND STURGES W. BAILEY DISTINGUISHED MEMBER AWARD: **Dr. Stephen Guggenheim**, Professor, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Illinois at Chicago. Professor Guggenheim has devoted his prominent scientific career to studying the structure and properties of phyllosilicates using X-ray diffraction. His work has provided pioneering contributions in numerous research fields and in developing

methodologies, which are now considered as starting points and standards for investigations on these minerals. The determination of such complex crystal structures was supported by the development and optimization of numerous advanced techniques, such as high-resolution transmission electron microscopy, electron diffraction, and synchrotron radiation. He has also made great contributions towards a structural understanding of clay–hydrate intercalates, organo-clay interactions, and dehydration and dehydroxylation reactions.



MARION L. AND CHRISTIE M. JACKSON MID-CAREER CLAY SCIENTIST AWARD: **Dr. George Christidis**, Professor, Economic Geology of Industrial Minerals Research Unit, Technical University of Crete, Greece. Professor Christidis's original and scholarly research on bentonites has made a significant contribution to clay minerals science. Of particular note is his work on the evaluation of the heterogeneity of smectites

in bentonites and on a new method for determining the layer charge in K-smectites. His research on the synthesis of pure high-added-value zeolites from fine-grained perlite waste is also significant.

STUDENT AWARDS AT THE 50th ANNIVERSARY ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CMS



Congratulations to winners of the CMS Student Research Grant Awards and CMS Student Travel Awards. Top row: Luke Morgan, Rohit Pant, Austin Boles, Tomasz Topor, John Harper, Andras Fehervari, and Chengxiang Li; bottom row: Sandra Londono, Xiaoli Wang, Florence Ling, Linduo Zhao, Tae-Hee Koo, Sayako Inoue, Anke Hertam, and Jinhong Zhou. Missing: Sabrina Alam.

ELEMENTS