

# **European Mineralogical Union**

## www.eurominunion.org

## **EMU EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (2021–2025)**

The new European Mineralogical Union (EMU) Executive Committee for 2021–2025 was elected during the online 33<sup>rd</sup> Council Meeting of the EMU. The results are as follows:

#### President

Ewa Słaby

(Institute of Geological Sciences, PASci, Warsaw, Poland)

#### Vice-Presidents

Isabelle Daniel

(Laboratoire de Géologie, Université Claude Bernard Lyon1, France)

Alessandro Pavese

(Department of Earth Science, University of Turin, Italy)

#### Treasurer

Helen E. King

(Department of Earth Sciences, Utrecht University, the Netherlands)

#### **Financial Officer**

Russell Rajendra

(Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland, UK)

### **Public Information Officers**

Simona Krmíčková

(Institute of Geology, Czech Academy of Science, Czech Republic) (press information)

Vadim Kovrugin

(Institute of Condensed Matter Chemistry of Bordeaux, France) (web information)

## **Commissioning Editor**

Michael Plötze

(Institute for Geotechnical Engineering, ETH Zürich, Switzerland)

#### Managing Editor of EMU Notes in Mineralogy

Kevin Murphy

(Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland, UK)

### **Past-President**

Michael Carpenter

(Department of Earth Sciences, University of Cambridge, UK)

Brief biographies of the new and present members of the EMU Executive Committee are given below:

## Ewa Słaby – President



Ewa Słaby is Professor of Geochemistry and Petrology at the Institute of Geological Sciences, Polish Academy of Sciences (IGS PASci). Her research concentrates on the geochemistry of magmatic and post-magmatic processes. She is currently researching how early Earth hydrothermal systems developed. She has served as Vice-Dean for Students Affairs and as a Vice-Dean for Scientific Affairs at the University of Warsaw (Faculty of Geology) and

has been a member and Vice-President of the Mineralogical Society of Poland. She is currently the Director of IGS PASci.

## Isabelle Daniel - Vice-President



Isabelle Daniel is a professor at the Claude Bernard University of Lyon (France). Her main research is on the interactions between aqueous fluids, minerals/rocks, organics and/or microbes under extreme conditions of pressure and temperature. She investigates the abiotic processes that impact on the deep subsurface biosphere and also that could precede the emergence of life on Earth, or elsewhere, in presence of liquid water.

## Alessandro Pavese – Vice-President



Alessandro Pavese is Professor of Mineralogy at the Department of Earth Sciences, University of Turin (Italy). His research is predominantly focused on the stability and transformation of mineral phases under high-pressure and high-temperature conditions.

Helen E. King – Treasurer



Helen E. King is Assistant Professor of Mineralogy in the Department of Earth Sciences at Utrecht University (The Netherlands). Her research focuses on the feedbacks between aqueous fluid chemistry and mineral reactivity in mainly Earth surface–related systems, including biomineralization.

## Russell Rajendra – Finance Officer



Russell Rajendra has worked as Finance and Operations Manager for the Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland since 1996. He took on the role of the EMU Finance Officer in 2019. He lives and works in the United Kingdom.

ELEMENTS 60 FEBRUARY 2021

## Simona Krmíčková – Public Information Officer (press information)



Simona Krmíčková works as a doctoral researcher at the Institute of Geology of the Czech Academy of Science in Prague (Czech Republic). Her main research is on the petrogenesis of igneous rocks with a special focus on radiogenic isotope geochemistry (Sr–Nd–Pb–Hf), both on both the whole-rock and mineral scale. She is also a PhD student in mineralogy, petrology, and economic geology at the Department of Geological Sciences, Masaryk University in Brno (Czech Republic).

# Vadim Kovrugin – Public Information Officer (web information)



Vadim Kovrugin is a materials research scientist at the Institute of Condensed Matter Chemistry of Bordeaux in Pessac (France). His main research field is the crystal chemistry of minerals and mineralinspired synthetic compounds, but more broadly, he is interested in crystal chemistry, mineralogy, crystal structures of new minerals, structure—property relationships of crystalline compounds, electrochemistry, and mineral-inspired synthetic

materials for energy storage applications.

## Michael Plötze – Commissioning Editor



Michael Plötze is a senior scientist and, since 2004, Head of the ClayLab and leader of the Environmental Geotechnics and Clay Mineralogy research group at the Institute for Geotechnical Engineering, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zürich. His primary areas of research are in the characterization of different kind of materials and minerals, especially clay minerals, with respect to various applications in environmental geotechnics, environmental mineralogy, and materials science.

## Kevin Murphy – Managing Editor of EMU Notes in Mineralogy



Kevin Murphy began working on the EMU Notes in Mineralogy Series in 2008. At that time, the Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland became a joint publisher of the series. He is responsible for assembling and editing the content, seeing it through the production process and then for post-production promotion and for sales/marketing.

## Michael Carpenter – Past President



Michael Carpenter is Professor of Mineralogy and Mineral Physics in the Department of Earth Sciences, University of Cambridge (UK). His research interests involve phase transitions in minerals and functional materials.

#### EMU RESEARCH EXCELLENCE MEDAL

One of the means by which the EMU fosters and encourages research in the mineralogical sciences is to present a silver medal each year. The EMU Research Excellence Medal is presented to early career scientists (no more than 15 years since completion of a PhD\*) who have made significant contributions to research *and* who are active in strengthening European scientific links. The medal is presented at an awards ceremony during an international meeting, such as the Goldschmidt Conference, European Mineralogical Conference, or a combined meeting of EMU member societies.

The EMU Medal Committee calls upon the member societies and all European mineralogists for nominations every year; the current nomination deadline is 1 June 2021. The nomination process is quite straightforward and only requires the following: a cover page (available at http://eurominunion.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/coverpage-EMU-award-interactive.pdf); a cover letter from the nominator outlining the candidate's qualifications in light of the two criteria for the award; supporting letters from at least two, but no more than four, co-sponsors; a complete candidate's CV that includes a full publication list. Nomination packages for 2021 should be sent to the Chair of the Medal Committee, Dr Encarnación Ruiz Agudo (encaruiz@ugr.es), by midnight (GMT) on 1 June 2021.

All members of EMU societies are encouraged to consider nominating suitable candidates from among their colleagues, to recognize their outstanding scientific contributions to the mineralogical sciences (in the broadest sense).

Please feel free to contact the President of EMU, Prof. Ewa Słaby (e.slaby@twarda.pan.pl), with questions or suggestions about the EMU Research Excellence Medal.

For more information, visit http://eurominunion.org/?page\_id=152.

ELEMENTS FEBRUARY 2021

The commission will take into account career breaks and other non-standard career paths, e.g., part-time working patterns, parental leave, caring responsibilities, health issues, if these have had an effect on the 15 years limit since PhD completion. The limit is applied to the closing date for nominations.