

## **Meteoritical Society**

### http://meteoriticalsociety.org

# 2022 ANNUAL METSOC MEETING – YOUR INVITATION TO GLASGOW (AGAIN!)

You are cordially invited to attend the 85<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of The Meteoritical Society (MetSoc), which will take place 14–19 August 2022 at the Scottish Event Campus in Glasgow (Scotland, UK). The meeting is hosted by the University of Glasgow planetary science research group.



Some people may require a visa to visit the United Kingdom. To find out whether you need a visa, and how to apply, see the UK Visas and Immigration website: https://www.gov.uk/check-uk-visa.

Oral and poster sessions, plenary sessions, and the Barringer Invitational Lecture, will take place within the Loch Suite of the Scottish Event Campus: https://www.sec.co.uk/organise-an-event/event-spaces/loch-suite.

Conference registration and the Welcome Reception will begin at 5 pm on Sunday, 14 August 2022 at the Hunterian Museum (https://www.gla.ac.uk/hunterian/), which is housed within the historic main building of the University of Glasgow.

On Monday night, the City of Glasgow offers you all a warm welcome. The city are providing a free welcome drinks reception for all the MetSoc delegates where a representative of the city's Lord Provost (Mayor) will personally attend to welcome us. This will be hosted in the Glasgow City Chambers, Glasgow's finest example of 19<sup>th</sup> Century architecture, located in the heart of George Square in the city centre.

On Wednesday (17 August 2022), excursions will be offered both within the city and exploring the neighbouring countryside.

The Conference Banquet with ceilidh will be held on Wednesday night at the magnificent Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, the UK's most popular museum outside of London. The Kelvingrove is home to internationally important natural history and archaeological collections, as well as artwork by Salvador Dalí, Van Gogh, Whistler, Monet, and Botticelli, https://www.glasgowlife.org.uk/museums/venues/kelvingrove-art-gallery-and-museum.

Several multi-day excursions will be offered, including trips to the Isle of Arran (with its world class geology, hiking, beer and whisky); to Edinburgh and St Andrews (for geology, castles, cathedrals, golf, and probably beer and whisky); and to NW Scotland, including to the Stac Fada and Skye impact members, plus a boat trip to see Loch Coruisk and the Small Isles, and probably more whiskey!

Rooms will be reserved in multiple hotels, offering a range of prices. As the Scottish Event Campus is located in the centre of Glasgow, there are six hotels within easy walking distance, and many more a stroll away. For hotels a little further away, public transport in Glasgow is generally frequent and reliable, and the Scottish Event Campus has its own train station, bus stops, and taxi ranks.

Glasgow is undoubtedly one of Europe's most dynamic cultural capitals, steeped in culture, rich in history, and alive with excitement. Glasgow was named one of the world's top ten 'must see' cities in 2014 by Fodor's and the Rough Guide, and is Scotland's cultural hub with over 20 museums and galleries, most offering free entry. Glasgow is also the envy of many European cities for its amazing and eclectic restaurant and café scene, with over 3,000 restaurants to choose from across the city, more than 700 bars and cosy pubs, and over 130 music events happening in the city each week. It is also an easy destination to reach and travel around, with 3 international airports within an hour's drive, and good rail, subway, and bus links.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to Glasgow!

Lydia Hallis (email: metsoc2020@glasgow.ac.uk)

#### 2021 ANNUAL MEETING TRAVEL AWARD WINNERS

The Meteoritical Society would like to congratulate the winners of awards for travel to the  $84^{\rm th}$  Annual Meeting in Chicago (Illinois, USA). We would also like to thank the sponsors of these awards who every year enable students, early career researchers, and researchers from low-income nations to travel to annual meetings in order to facilitate career-enhancing interactions with a wide array of international society members.

Elsevier Early Career Award: Jens Barosch and Bidong Zhang.

**O. Richard Norton Award**: Simon Anghel, Ioannis Baziotis, Mark Boyd, Emilie Dunham, Yankun Di, Timothy Hahn, and Zoltan Vaci.

**Darryl Pitt/Macovich Collection Award**: Virgile Malarewicz.

**Meteoritical Society Travel for International Members Award**: Hasnaa Chennaoui Aoudjehane

**Barringer Crater Company Award**: Marine Ciocco, Faye Davies, Claudia Samanta Aravena González, Ashley Herbst, Clara Elena Kampf, Imene Kerraouch, Ioannis Kouvatsis, Lisa Krämer Ruggiu, and Daniel Sheikh.

NASA Award: Samuel Alpert, Laura Chaves, Jessica Clarke, Marina Gemma, Mabel Gray, Kana Ishimaru, Alexander Kling, Dara Laczniak, Kaitlyn McCain, Amanda Ostwald, Amanda Stadermann, and Zoe Wilbur.

#### **CALL FOR AWARD NOMINATIONS**

Please consider nominating a colleague for one of the MetSoc's awards. Nominations should be sent to Secretary Munir Humayun (metsocsec@gmail.com) by January 15 (January 31 for the Service Award and the Pellas-Ryder Award). For more information and details on how to submit a nomination for any of these awards, please see the latest newsletter at the society's website or e-mail the secretary.

The society gives a number awards each year. The **Leonard Medal** honors outstanding contributions to the science of meteoritics and closely allied fields. The **Barringer Medal and Award** recognizes outstanding work in the field of impact cratering and/or work that has led to a better understanding of impact phenomena. The **Nier Prize** recognizes outstanding research in meteoritics and closely allied fields by young scientists. The **Service Award** honors members who have advanced the goals of the Meteoritical Society to promote research and education in meteoritics and planetary science in ways other than by conducting scientific research. The **Paul Pellas–Graham Ryder Award** is given for the best student paper in planetary science and is awarded jointly by the Meteoritical Society and the Planetary Geology Division of the Geological Society of America. The newest society award, the **Elmar Jessberger Award**, will be given to a mid-career female scientist in the field of isotope cosmochemistry.

#### CORRECTION

In the April 2021 Meteoritical Society news page of *Elements*, the following committee members for the Nomenclature Committee were inadvertently omitted: Cyrena Goodrich (Lunar and Planetary Institute, USA), Juliane Gross (Rutgers University, USA), and Ansgar Greshake (Museum für Naturkunde Berlin, Germany). These three are the newest members of the committee. Emma Bullock, Vinciane Debaille, and Hasnaa Chennaoui Aoudjehane rotated off as of January 2020.

In addition, Miao was incorrectly listed with Universität Muenster (Germany) as his affiliation: his correct affiliation is with the Guilin University of Technology (China).

ELEMENTS 356 OCTOBER 2021