

Geochemical Society

www.geochemsoc.org

2022 GS AWARDS

V.M. Goldschmidt Award



Marilyn L. Fogel, Professor Emerita at the University of California, Riverside (USA), received the 2022 Victor M. Goldschmidt Award. The Goldschmidt Award is the society's highest honor, presented annually for major achievements in geochemistry over a career. Dr. Fogel revolutionized the use of stable isotopes in ecology, geochemistry, and cosmochemistry. Her research ranged from stable isotope fractionation in photosynthesis, to

tracking the anthropogenic impact of the colonization of Australia, to the understanding of cosmochemical processes in meteorites.

Victor Moritz Goldschmidt (1888–1947) was a chemist considered to be the founder of modern geochemistry and crystal chemistry. He developed the Goldschmidt Classification of elements and worked for many years at the University of Oslo (Norway). The society has presented a medal in his honor since 1972.

C.C. Patterson Medal



Xiangdong Li received the 2022 Clair C. Patterson Award, which recognizes an innovative breakthrough of fundamental significance in environmental geochemistry, particularly in service of society, consisting of either a single outstanding contribution or a short series of papers published within the last decade. Professor Li holds the positions of Dean of Faculty of Construction and Environment, Director of Research Institute for

Sustainable Urban Development, Chair Professor of Environmental Science and Technology, and Ko Jan Ming Professor in Sustainable Urban Development at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University. He is recognized for his innovative and dynamic work in environmental biogeochemistry, including research in the fields of regional contamination, urban air PM2.5 pollution, and the origin and dissemination of antimicrobial resistance.

Clair C. Patterson (1922–1995) developed the uranium-lead dating method. Using lead and uranium isotopic data from the Canyon Diablo meteorite, he calculated an age for the Earth of 4.55 billion years. This figure was far more accurate than those that existed at the time and has remained unchanged for over 50 years. Patterson also made enormous contributions to the understanding of lead's role as an environmental contaminant and subsequent elimination from many products.

F.W. Clarke Medal



Yige Zhang, assistant professor at Texas A&M University (USA), received the 2022 F.W. Clarke Award this July. The Clarke Award recognizes an early-career scientist for a single outstanding contribution to geochemistry or cosmochemistry published either as a single paper or a series of papers on a single topic. Dr. Zhang is recognized for his contributions to the application and refinement of lipid biomarker proxies for paleotemperature and

atmospheric CO₂ reconstructions, including development of the "Methane Index" and "Ring Index".

Frank Wigglesworth Clarke (1847–1931) was a chemist who determined the composition of the Earth's crust. He taught chemistry and physics at the University of Cincinnati (USA) and served in the U.S. Geological Survey for many years. He also collaborated with the Smithsonian Institution on atomic weight research. The society established the award in his name in 1972.

2022 GEOCHEMISTRY FELLOWS

In July, the Geochemical Society and European Association of Geochemistry welcomed a new group of Geochemistry Fellows. These scientists are recognized for a broad spectrum of achievements that advance geochemistry.



Marly Babinski Universidade de São Paulo (Brazil)



Noriko Kita University of Wisconsin-Madison (USA)



Christopher J. BallentineUniversity of
Oxford (UK)



Xiang-dong Li Hong Kong Polytechnic University



Simon Brassell Indiana University (USA)



Harue Masuda Osaka City University (Japan)



Ken BuesselerWoods Hole
Oceanographic
Institution (USA)



Tamsin Mather University of Oxford (UK)



Marie Edmonds University of Cambridge (UK)



Ann PearsonHarvard
University (USA)



Stephen Foley Macquarie University (Australia)



Laurie Reisberg University of Lorraine CRPG Nancy (France)



Gideon HendersonUniversity of
Oxford (UK)



Lenny Winkel ETH Zurich (Switzerland)



Jörg Hermann University of Bern (Switzerland)



Yi-Gang Xu Guangzhou Institute of Geochemistry (China)