

Meteoritical Society

http://meteoriticalsociety.org

THANKS TO OUR SOCIETY'S COMMITTEE MEMBERS

The Meteoritical Society would like to extend its sincere thanks to all those members who are serving on society committees this year. We have listed their names below, with the names of the committee chairs in bold. Without the generous help of these members, the Met Soc could not function. We greatly appreciate their help!

Officers and Council

Elected Officers and Councilors of the Society

President	
Vice President	
Past President	
Secretary	
Treasurer	
Councilor	

Editorial Personnel

The editors of the Society's publications and website

Tim Juli	Editor of Meteoritics and Planetary Sciences
Jeff Catalano	Executive editor of Geochemica et Cosmochemica Acta
Cari Corrigan	Editor of Meteoritical Society contributions to <i>Elements</i>
Jim Rowe	Chair of website & Outreach Committee

Leonard Medal Committee

Nominates candidates for the Leonard Medal, Nier Prize, and election of Fellows

Hiroshi Hidaka 2022

Zita Martins (chair) 2023

Jeff Cuzzi 2024 Alexander N. Krot 2025 Larry Nittler 2026

Barringer Award Committee

Annual award for outstanding work in the field of impact cratering

Sarah T. Stewart 2022 Roger Gibson 2023 Thomas Kenkmann 2024 Ludovic Ferrière 2025

Publications Committee

Oversight for the journal Meteoritics and Planetary Science

lan Lyon (chair) 2023 (2nd term)

Mikhail Zolotov 2023 Hikaru Yabuta 2022 Sandeep Sahijpal 2022 Janice Bishop 2023 Suzanne Schwenzer 2023 Ex officio member: the Society Treasurer, Tasha Dunn

Joint Publications Committee

Oversight for the journal Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta

Karim Benzarara (chair, GS) 2022

Sara Russell (MS) 2022 Caroline Peacock (GS) 2023 Conel Alexander (MS) 2024 Fang-Zhen Teng (GS) 2024

Ion Friedrich (MS) 2022

Endowment Committee

Members serve as the trustees for the Society's investment fund

Drew Barringer (co-chair, 7th term) 2022 Rhian Jones (co-chair, 2nd term) 2022

Gary Huss 2021 (2nd term) Candace Kohl 2022 Dennis Harries (1st term) 2024 Ad hoc member: Allan Treiman

Ex officio member:

Treasurer of the Meteoritical Society, Tasha Dunn

Audit Committee

Produces an audit of the Treasurer's annual report for each fiscal year

Kevin McKeegan (chair) 2021

Denton Ebel 2021 TBD

TBD 2024

Nomenclature Committee

Guidelines for naming meteorites; publication of Meteoritical Bulletin

Francis McCubbin (chair, 3rd term) 2024

Mutsumi Komatsu (2nd term) 2022 Bingkui Miao (2nd term) 2024 Devin Schrader (1st term) 2022 Cyrena Goodrich 2023 Ansgar Greshake 2023 Juliane Gross 2023 Katherine Joy 2024

Pellas-Ryder Award Committee

Selection of candidates for the Pellas-Ryder

Nick Lang (chair) (GSA) 2022

Joseph Boesenberg (MS) 2022 Jemma Davidson (MS) 2022 Marisa Palucis (GSA) 2023 Steven B. Simon (MS) 2023

TBD (GSA) 2024

Nominating Committee

Nomination of the Society's Officers and Councilors

Ludovic Ferrière

Michaël Zolensky Emma Bullock Akiko Nakamura Maria Eugenia Varela Katherine Joy

Membership Committee

Recruit and retain members; nominate Service Award recipients

Arya Udry 2022

Asma Steinhausser 2022 Christian Koeberl 2023 Hasnaa Chennaoui 2023 Shigekazu Yoneda 2023 Beda Hofmann 2023

Ex officio member: Chair of the Endowment

Committee, Rhian Jones

McKay Award Committee

Nominates candidate for best student presentation at annual meeting

Romy D. Hanna (Chair) 2022

Lydia Hallis (vice-chair) 2022

Jessberger Award Committee

Nominates outstanding mid-career female isotope geochemists for the Jessberger Award

Mario Trieloff (chair) 2023

Noriko Kita 2023 (vice chair) Zita Martens 2023 (Leonard Medal Committee liaison)

Sara Russell 2023 Thomas Stephan 2023

Outreach ad hoc Committee

Jim Rowe (chair) 2024

Mendy Ouzillou 2023 Cari Corrigan 2023 Philippe Claeys 2023

Zoe Wilbur 2023

Steffanie Sillitoe-Kukas 2023

Ex officio member: Chair of the Endowment Committee, Rhian Jones

Ethics ad hoc Committee

Trevor Ireland (chair) 2023

Tracy Rushmer 2023 Natalia Artemieva 2023

IN MEMORIAM - PETER SIGNER

Peter Signer died on Friday, Dec. 10, 2021. After a long illness, he peacefully fell asleep at the age of 92. He was a Fellow of the Meteoritical Society since 1967. His name is memorialized in the Baur-Signer ion source in noble gas mass spectrometry and the Signer-Nier model for cosmogenic noble gases.

Following his dissertation at the University of Bern (Switzerland) on a mass spectrometric study of the ¹⁷⁶Lu decay constant with Friedrich Houtermans and a seven-year stay with Alfred O. Nier at the University of Minnesota (USA), Peter was appointed professor for Geo- and Cosmochronology at ETH Zurich (Switzerland) in 1965. He founded the

Laboratory for Noble Gas Mass Spectrometry, which he led until his retirement in 1994, and which is now headed by Henner Busemann in the third generation.

In Minneapolis, Peter contributed much to a better understanding of noble gases in meteorites. In now classical works, he developed the Signer-Nier model describing cosmogenic noble gas production in iron meteorites and with Hans Suess he coined the terms "solar" and "planetary" for different noble gas components in meteorites.



In his first years at ETH, Peter proposed to capture ions from the solar wind with metal foils on space missions, an idea that was ultimately realized by his colleagues at the University of Bern as the famous solar wind experiment during the Apollo lunar missions. Under his leadership, the ETH noble gas laboratory received worldwide recognition, first of all with work on lunar samples and meteorites, studying solar, cosmogenic, and primordial noble gases. Further major activities—in close collaborations with colleagues in Earth and environmental sciences—included surface exposure dating of terrestrial samples with

"cosmogenic" noble gases, as well as studies of lake dynamics with noble gases, e.g. by tritium-³He dating.

Peter Signer was an enthusiastic lecturer who reminded generations of Earth Science students about the importance of the other planets for understanding Earth.

Peter is survived by his wife Gerti and their two children Ina and Reto. We mourn with them a good friend and teacher.

Rainer Wieler ETH Zürich



ANNUAL MEETING SCHEDULE

2022	Glasgow, Scotland, 14–19 August
2023	Los Angeles, California, USA, 13–18 August
2024	Brussels, Belgium, EU, July/August (dates TBD)
2025	Perth, Australia, July (dates TBD)
2026	Frankfurt, Germany, July/August (dates TBD)

RENEW YOUR MEMBERSHIP NOW!

Don't forget to renew your society membership! You can renew online at: https://meteoritical.org/membership/join