

## **European Association of Geochemistry**



www.eag.eu.com

## **CHANGES TO THE EAG COUNCIL**

The term of EAG President **Derek Vance** came to an end in December, and **Catherine Chauvel** has now started her two-year term as President of the EAG.



**Catherine Chauvel** is a CNRS Directrice de Recherche at the Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, France. Her research focuses on high-temperature geochemistry with a special emphasis on mantle geochemistry. She uses trace element and radiogenic isotopes to understand the source of magmas, the evolution of the mantle and continental crust over Earth history, and the impact of geochem-

ical fractionation during sediment formation on the overall budget of subduction zones. Her present research concentrates on the origin of magmas formed deep in the mantle and on the origin of the material constituting their mantle source. Catherine has previously served as treasurer of the EAG, board member of the Geochemical Society, and president of the VGP section of the AGU. She is presently a member of the advisory board of *Geostandards and Geoanalytical Research*, and an editor of a volume of the next *Treatise of Geochemistry*. In the past, she has been member of the editorial board of *Chemical Geology*, editor-inchief of *Chemical Geology*, and associate editor of *Geochemistry*, *Geophysics*, *Geosystems*.

In December, the EAG Council elected **Dan Frost** to serve as Vice-President and **Martin Whitehouse** and **Karen Hudson-Edwards** to serve as co-chairs for the Goldschmidt2025 Organizing and Science Committees.



**Dan Frost** is a Professor of Experimental Geosciences at the Bavarian Research Institute of Experimental Geochemistry and Geophysics (Bayerisches Geoinstitut), University of Bayreuth, Germany. His research focuses on chemical and physical processes occurring in the deep interior of the Earth, using mainly experimental methods to study the cycling of volatile elements inside the Earth and mineral

physical properties of the mantle and to constrain processes of terrestrial accretion and core formation and the evolution of the redox state of the Earth's interior. Dan served as a Goldschmidt Officer from 2019 to 2023, co-chairing the Goldschmidt2021 Organizing and Science Committees, was an EAG council member from 2009 to 2014, and served as the Chair of the Executive Committee for *Elements* magazine from 2015 until 2021, where he also represents the EAG.



**Martin Whitehouse** directs the NordSIMS facility at the Swedish Museum of Natural History, Stockholm, Sweden. Martin's primary research interest is in the application of radiogenic isotopes and geochronology to the evolution of the Earth's earliest continental crust. His research also encompasses studies of planetary evolution, Gondwanan tectonics, the behaviour of geochronometers during metamorphism, and

early Earth surface environments and biogenicity.



**Karen Hudson-Edwards** is a Professor of Sustainable Mining at the Camborne School of Mines and Environment and Sustainability Institute at the University of Exeter, UK. She is an environmental geochemist and mineralogist working in the fields of mine waste characterisation and remediation, sustainable resource extraction, mining and circular economy, and critical raw materials.

EAG members also elected two new councillors, **Raúl Fonseca** and **Silke Merchel**, in the council elections last autumn, in which voting participation reached 37%. We thank all EAG members for their participation and are especially grateful to the four candidates for agreeing to stand for election.



**Raúl Fonseca** is a Professor of Experimental Petrology and Geochemistry in the Institute of Geology, Mineralogy and Geophysics at the Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany. He investigates trace element and stable isotope behaviour during high-temperature processes occurring in the interior of terrestrial planets, and his current work focuses on the effect that changing redox conditions have on

stable Ti isotope fractionation during planetary differentiation events.



**Silke Merchel** is based at the VERA (Vienna Environmental Research Accelerator) facility of the University of Vienna, Austria, where she works to improve and facilitate the chemical separation of long-lived radionuclides. The resulting data, measured by accelerator mass spectrometry, give quantitative insights into Earth and planetary research topics such as astrophysics, climate and

ocean sciences, cosmochemistry, and geomorphology. Silke is addicted to using "big machines" like particle accelerators, neutron sources, and synchrotron facilities for analytical purposes.

Finally, we take this opportunity to thank departing Past-President **Sigurður Gíslason** and councillors **Lena Alakangas**, **Nadia Malaspina**, and **Jill Sutton** for their important contributions to the EAG during their respective terms on the EAG Council.

## **2023 EAG COUNCIL**

**PRESIDENT** Catherine Chauvel (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, France)

VICE-PRESIDENT Dan Frost (University of Bayreuth, Germany)
PAST-PRESIDENT Derek Vance (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
TREASURER Estelle Rose-Koga (Université Clermont Auvergne, France)
SECRETARY Kate Kiseeva (University College Cork, Ireland)
GOLDSCHMIDT OFFICERS Catherine Jeandel (CNRS Toulouse University, France), Martin Whitehouse (NordSIMS, Swedish Museum of Natural History, Sweden)

## **COUNCILLORS**

Ernest Chi Fru (Cardiff University, United Kingdom) Raúl Fonseca (Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany) Karen Hudson-Edwards (University of Exeter, United Kingdom)

**Early Career Councillor** Janne Koornneef (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Susan Little (University College London, United Kingdom) Johanna Marin Carbonne (University of Lausanne, Switzerland) Silke Merchel (University of Vienna, Austria) Olivier Namur (University of Leuven, Belgium) Carmen Sanchez-Valle (University of Münster, Germany)

ELEMENTS 422 DECEMBER 2022