

The Clay Minerals Society

www.clays.org

THE PRESIDENT'S CORNER

Dear CMS community,



I am honored to write this column as the new President of the Society, following in the footsteps of Sabine Petit. On behalf of the Society, I extend heartfelt thanks to Sabine for her leadership as President over the past year. I also would like to thank Youjun Deng for taking over as Vice President, and to Steve Hillier as he steps down after four years on the Executive Committee.

CMS is a society of volunteers driven by a shared passion for clay, mud, and all things fine-grained. The Society is indebted to the many members who generously serve on its committees, on the CMS Council, in the business office, and in the organization of its flagship activities including the Annual Meeting, the journal *Clays and Clay Minerals*, the Reynolds Cup, and the Source Clays Repository. I encourage you to reach out if interested in serving on one of our committees. The list can be found at https://www.clays.org/contacts_standing_committees. For early-career clay scientists, in particular, service on a committee provides an enlightening sense of the inner workings of a professional society. It also allows you to take ownership of (y)our society!

After five years with Springer Nature, *Clays and Clay Minerals* transitioned on January 1, 2024 to a partnership with Cambridge University Press (CUP). Tthe journal is once again available through the GeoScienceWorld website. We encourage submissions to our Society-led journal!

Mark your calendars for the joint CMS-International Clay Conference in Dublin, Ireland, July 13–18, 2025! Session proposals can be submitted to Kevin Murphy and Steve Hillier. I would like to particularly encourage proposals on topics that expand the CMS community.

Finally, please take a few minutes to reflect on the work that has most deeply influenced your thinking in clay science. If the authors are underrecognized, please consider nominating them for our awards: the Bailey Award, Brindley Lecture, Jackson Mid-Career Award, Pioneer Lecture, or our new Warren Huff Pathway Award for early-career scientists.

> Warm regards, Ian C. Bourg, CMS President

CMS PROFESSIONAL AWARD 2024 SPOTLIGHT

Among our four distinguished professional awardees, we highlighted **Dr Prakash Malla, Dr. Eric Ferrage**, and **Dr. Toshihiro Kogure** in previous issues. Here we are pleased to spotlight the biography of Marilyn and Sturges W. Bailey Distinguished Member Awardee **Dr. Jan Środoń** of the Polish Academy of Sciences.



Jan Środoń was born in 1947 in Krakow, Southern Poland. Both his masters (1970) and PhD (1975) theses, supervised by Jan Kubisz in Krakow, were focused on illite-smectite from bentonites and strongly influenced his future research interests. They were later centered around diagenesis during his postdoc work with John Hower (1975–1976) at the Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio. Since 1976, Jan has built his own clay

laboratory in Krakow, continuing intense collaboration in the USA, at the US Geological Survey in Denver and Boulder and at the Texaco/ Chevron laboratories in Houston, with Denny Eberl, Doug McCarty, and Victor Drits, studying the mineralogy of illite-smectite, its crystal size, and crystallization mechanism. Another product of this collaboration was a method of quantitative mineral analysis of mudstones (currently the most cited of Jan's papers) and the organization of the

Reynolds Cup. Research visits in France (INRA Versailles with Francoise Elsass) and CNRS Strasbourg with Norbert Clauer) resulted in studies of illite-smectite by TEM, illite-smectite K-Ar dating, and in the construction of a K-Ar laboratory in Krakow.

Thereafter, Jan used K-Ar and XRD techniques for regional studies of diagenetic phenomena, conducted by himself and his PhD students (Baltic Basin, Podolia, Velebit, Upper Silesia, Tatra Mts., Podhale, Carpathian Foredeep). He also headed the Krakow Center of his institute. In the last 10 years, Jan has directed a multidisciplinary project aimed at deciphering the Ediacaran climate of the East European Craton. He retired in 2017, but remains full-time employed by his institute.

GLIMPSE OF 61st CMS ANNUAL MEETING, 2024

The 61st Annual Meeting was held at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, 03–06 June 2024, in collaboration with the Asian Clay Groups, thanks to Chairs **Dr. Yuji Arai** (Clay Minerals Society), **Dr. Tsutomu Sato** and **Dr. Takeo Ebina** (Clay Science Society of Japan), and their team.

The total number of attendees was 261 (216 in-person and 45 online). Among them, over 52 delegates were students. A total of 251 abstracts, comprising 203 oral and 48 poster presentations, were presented.

We encourage you to visit a photo album of our conference! Visit https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.497194892973678&type=3.

Five eminent scholars presented Plenary Lectures. They were **Akira Ono**, **Jan Środoń**, **Prakash Malla**, **Toshihiro Kogure**, and **Eric Ferrage**. The latter four speakers were CMS awardees in 2024. Take a moment to read their biographies from our past News Pages and in the current issue.

CMS offered travel grants to ten students for them to attend and present their research. They are **Wen-Hui Li** (National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan), **Zongtang Yang** (The University of Sydney, Australia), **Faisal Gread** (Comenius University in Bratislava, Slovakia), **Maria Arizaleta** (University of Alberta, Canada), **Alexandre Coulombe** (Université du Québec, Canada), **Rina Sekino** (Meiji University, Japan), **Hibiki Shirata** (Meiji University, Japan), **Bright Amenkhienan** (The University of Sydney, Australia), and **Maria Guzman** (University of Stuttgart, Germany).

A National Science Foundation (NSF) travel grant was also awarded to **Will Lawrence** (CalTech Pasadena, CA), **Wasek Foysal** (Texas A&M University, College Station, TX), **Jasmine Rattanpal** (California State University, Hayward, CA), **Camillo Sanchez** (Texas A&M University, College Station, TX), **Chiawei Lin** (Texas A&M University, College Station, TX), **Sharissa Thompson** (Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA), **Ibrahim Okunlola** (The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL), **Aaron Chipman** (Brigham Young University, Provo, UT), **Jackson Stewart** (University of Louisville, Louisville, KY), **Natalie Jones** (Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, AZ), and **Dongyi Guo** (Miami University, Oxford, OH).

The CMS best oral student presentation was awarded to **Maria L. Arizaleta** (University of Alberta, Canada), **Natalie Jones** (Northern Arizona University, USA), **Jackson C. Stewart** (University of Louisville, USA), and **Aaron Chipman** (Brigham Young University, USA), while the best poster presentation was awarded to **Will Lawrence** (California Institute of Technology, USA).

Students and young researchers received awards from the Clay Science Society of Japan and the Korean Clay Science Society, featured in their newsletters.

The conference wrapped up by extending an invitation to participate in the International Clay Conference in Dublin, scheduled for July 13^{th} to 18^{th} , 2025.

