

International Association of GeoChemistry

www.iagc.ca

RECENT NEWS FROM THE IAGC

The past few months have been a busy time for IAGC



The second set of IAGC grants for PhD students was announced in May, with awards going to Ibrahim Barrie of the Department of Isotope Geochemistry at the Free University of Amsterdam (Netherlands), Bryn Kimball of the Department of Geosciences at Pennsylvania State University (USA), Lindsey MacKenzie of the Department of Geosciences at the University of Montana (USA), and Alejandro Villalobos-Aragón of the Department of Geological Sciences at University of Texas at El Paso (USA). Congratulations to these four outstanding young geochemists.

Russell Harmon

IAGC had a strong presence at the 33rd International

Geological Congress, held on 6-14 August in Oslo, Norway. As a part of the International Year of Planet Earth, IAGC members Andrew Parker, Andrew Herczej, and Russell Harmon organized a major geoscience program entitled "Contribution of Geochemistry to the Study of the Planet." The program consisted of two parts: a "Historical Perspectives" session, which reviewed various facets of geochemistry as they have developed over the past half-century, and a "Today and Tomorrow" session, which considered future developments in geochemistry and their potential to solve environmental problems in the 21st century. IAGC members were also involved in the organization of three other symposia under the environmental geochemistry umbrella: "Geochemical Mapping from the Global to the Local Scale: The Arthur Darnley Symposium," cochaired by David B. Smith, Clemens Reimann, Jane Plant, and Reijo Salminen; "Geochemical Proxies of Palaeoenvironmental Change in Terrestrial Environments," cochaired by Ian Fairchild and Attila Demény; and "Frontiers of Stable Isotope Analysis for Environmental Science and Biogeochemistry," cochaired by Martin Novak and Peter Wynn. Thanks to these IAGC members for their hard work on behalf of the geochemistry community.

IAGC continued its presence and involvement in the Geological Society of America annual meeting. Mel and Sim Gascoyne staffed the IAGC booth at the 2008 meeting in Houston, Texas, and IAGC sponsored two topical sessions: "Sources, Transport, Fate and Toxicology of Trace Elements in the Environment," cochaired by LeeAnn Munk, Dave Long, and Berry Lyons, and "Real-Time, In-Field Geochemical Analysis: Current Capabilities and Future Prospects," cochaired by Nancy McMillan, Russell Harmon, and April Ulery. The IAGC appreciates seeing the IAGC flag at the GSA meeting.

ATTILA DEMÉNY APPOINTED DIRECTOR, HUNGARIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCES INSTITUTE OF GEOCHEMISTRY



IAGC member Attila Demény was recently named as the new director of the Institute of Geochemistry of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences and commenced his duties in August 2008. Attila is a stable isotope geochemist who holds a PhD from the Eötvös Loránd University in Hungary and a DSc from the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. He is a member of the Hungarian Geological Society and has served as vice-chairman and chairman of the International Isotope Society, as

leader of the Hungarian working group of IGCP project 314, as a member of the IAGC Council from 2000 to 2004, and as IAGC secretary from 2004 to 2008. In 2007, Attila received the Academy Award of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences.

IAGC announced its 2008 awards at the 33rd International Geological Congress in Oslo, Norway, during the IAGC-sponsored "Arthur Darnley Symposium." IAGC vice president Clemens Reimann of the Norwegian Geological Survey presided over the awards ceremony. Congratulations to the award recipients. The Vernadsky Medal was awarded to Bjørn Bølviken (Norwegian Geological Survey, Norway). Thure E. Cerling (University of Utah, USA) and Gunter Faure (Ohio State University, USA) were elected as IAGC Fellows. The IAGC Hitchon Award went to Ralph Seiler, Ken Stollenwerk, and John Garbarino of the U.S. Geological Survey for their 2005 paper "Factors Controlling Tungsten Concentrations in Ground Water, Carson Desert, Nevada," which appeared in volume 20 of Applied Geochemistry. Certificates of Recognition were presented to Rosa Cidu (University of Cagliari, Italy), John Gray (U.S. Geological Survey, USA), David Long (Michigan State University, USA), Jodie Miller (University of Stellenbosch, South Africa), and LeeAnn Munk (University of Alaska-Anchorage, USA).

Finally, the Association elected its officers and council members for the 2008–2012 term and extended its thanks to John Gray (USA), Jan Kramers (Switzerland), Berry Lyons (USA), and Kenji Notsu (Japan) for their service as IAGC Council members from 2004 to 2008. Check our website for the list of officers.

Russell Harmon IAGC President

FAURE AWARDS

IAGC Faure Awards are given for the best student poster presentations at large (>150 participants), IAGC-sponsored conferences . The award consists of a certificate and a cash prize of US\$250, and the recipient is cited in the IAGC Newsletter and on the website. At the GSA meeting in Houston, the Faure awardees were Ryan Vannier and Laura Nielsen (see IAGC Newsletter #49 for more details).



RYAN VANNIER has a broad background in the geological sciences. In 1997, he earned his degree in hydrogeology from Western Michigan University. Following graduation, he moved to the Seattle area to work as a consulting hydrogeologist with an international environmental consulting agency. In 2005, he began work on his doctorate at Michigan State University in the Aqueous Environmental Geochemical Laboratories under advisor Dr. David Long, He

studies geochemical reference conditions in inland lakes using high-resolution multielement analysis of sediment cores. His project is funded by the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality.



LAURA NIELSEN is a first year PhD student at the University of California, Berkeley. A Summa Cum Laude graduate of Dartmouth College (2008), she majored in the Earth sciences with a focus on geochemistry. She completed her senior honors thesis on the geochemistry of uranium species in groundwater at the Nuclear Metals, Inc. superfund site. She conducted this research as a student of Dr. Benjamin Bostick at Dartmouth. She is currently beginning research related to nuclear

waste storage in Hanford, Washington. Her advisors are Dr. Donald DePaolo and Dr. John Christensen, the director and principal investigator, respectively, of the Center for Isotope Geochemistry at Lawrence Berkeley Labs.

422