

The European Association for Geochemistry

www.eag.eu.com

MEDALS AND LECTURESHIP AWARDEES

The EAG is proud to announce this year's annual medal and lectureship winners. EAG medals will be formally presented at the annual Goldschmidt Conference on June 21–26 in Davos, Switzerland. EAG annually confers three major awards and co-sponsors the Gast Lectureship with the Geochemical Society. Congratulations to this year's honoured group!





The Urey Medal is named in honour of Harold Clayton Urey, an American physical chemist and Nobel Prize winner in chemistry in 1934. It is awarded for outstanding contributions to geochemistry over a career. The **2009 Urey Medal** has been awarded to **François M. M. Morel** of Princeton University for his innovative research on the role of trace metals in biogeochemical cycles. François and his group at Princeton employ a mix of laboratory and field experiments that include chemical, microbiological, biochemical and genetic tools to

elucidate linkages between trace metals such as iron and zinc and the global cycles of the major nutrients carbon, nitrogen and phosphorus. Human activities, such as the burning of fossil fuel and the production of fertilizers, profoundly modify these cycles, and the goal is to understand how trace metals modulate the responses of ecosystems to these global changes. Much of François' work focuses on the important question of what physical and chemical factors control the growth and activity of phytoplankton in the sea.

Houtermans Medal



The Houtermans Medal is named in honour of Friedrich Georg Houtermans, a Dutch-Austrian-German physicist. The medal is awarded to a scientist under 35 years of age for exceptional contributions to geochemistry. The **2009 Houtermans Medal** has been awarded to **Nathan Yee** of Rutgers University. Nathan is an expert on the impact of microorganisms on the chemistry of toxic metals. He applies a combination of microscopic, spectroscopic, and genetic techniques to investigate microbial-mediated contaminant transforma-

tions, including reduction/oxidation, complexation, dissolution, and precipitation reactions. Currently Nathan focuses on how microorganisms induce mineral precipitation and the implications of biomineralization for contaminant sequestration.

Science Innovation Award - Epstein Medal

This year's **Science Innovation Award** is named in honour of **Samuel Epstein**. Epstein was one of the founders of isotope geochemistry and laid much of the groundwork for our current understanding of the geochemistry of light-element isotopes. In 1952, Epstein moved to the California Institute of Technology where he founded a school of stable isotope geochemistry. He remained at Caltech until shortly before his death on September 17, 2001. The Science Innovation Award is bestowed upon a scientist who has recently made a particularly important and innovative breakthrough in geochemistry.



The **2009 Epstein Medal** has been awarded to **John Eiler** of the California Institute of Technology for the novel use of multiply substituted isotopologues of CO₂ in air. The rare carbon dioxide isotopologue ¹³C¹⁸O¹⁶O has several interesting and exotic properties, and John has shown how it can provide unique constraints on the origins of CO₂ and the budget of atmospheric CO₂. The concentration of this isotopologue is sensitive to whether or not CO₂ comes from high-temperature sources (e.g. car exhaust and forest fires) or low-tem-

perature sources (e.g. respiration), independent of the isotopic composition of that CO_2 . John and his group are using measurements of this isotopologue to understand the atmospheric budget of CO_2 and the mechanisms of its production and consumption in model systems.

Gast Lectureship



The **Paul W. Gast Lecture Series** honours the Geochemical Society's first Goldschmidt Medalist. It is awarded to a scientist who is not more than 45 years of age for outstanding contributions to geochemistry and is presented at the GS/EAG annual Goldschmidt Conference. This year's winner is **Ken Farley**, and he will present his lecture at the 2009 Goldschmidt meeting. Ken is the W.M. Keck Foundation Professor of Geochemistry and Division

Chair at the Division of Geological and Planetary Sciences, California Institute of Technology. Ken's research centres on noble gas geochemistry and its applications to a wide range of Earth science problems, including the thermochronometry of mountain building, the origin and evolution of ocean-island and mid-ocean ridge basalts, surface exposure dating, and the accretion rate of cosmic dust.

2009 V. M. GOLDSCHMIDT CONFERENCE



The European Association for Geochemistry is the proud organizer of the 2009 V. M. Goldschmidt Conference. This year's meeting will be held in Davos, Switzerland, June 21–26, 2009. More than 3100 abstracts were submitted for the meeting, the most ever, in topics ranging from the Earth's core to the atmosphere. We welcome you all to join us in Davos! For further information visit the Goldschmidt 2009 website: www.goldschmidt2009.org.

ELEMENTS 120 APRIL 2009