

German Mineralogical Society

www.dmg-home.de

LETTER FROM THE PRESIDENT

Dear Members of the DMG,

In September a very successful and enjoyable annual DMG meeting was held at the Prince-Bishops's residence of the University of Münster. The scientific program was composed of a number of well-received sessions on "hot" mineralogical topics, as well as three plenary lectures on crystal growth, mantle processes, and mineral evolution. It was particularly encouraging to see that many student members of our society contributed to the scientific sessions. On behalf of the DMG, I would like to congratulate and thank the local organizers in Münster, Claudia Meyer, Timm John, and Andrew Putnis, for the organization of this marvelous meeting. The following three DMG awards for 2010 were presented during the meeting.

Abraham-Gottlob-Werner Medal in Silver to Hans-Rudolf Wenk



The recipient of the Werner Medal in Silver was Hans-Rudolf Wenk from the University of California, Berkeley. Rudy was honored for his outstanding scientific achievements in the field of characterizing and interpreting the textures of rocks that result from deformation, both under laboratory conditions and in geological environments. One of his major achievements was to establish the link between crystallographic preferred orientation and underlying deformation mechanisms in crystals. His

books, *Electron Microscopy in Mineralogy* and *Minerals – Their Constitution* and *Origin*, are examples of his seminal contributions to the mineral sciences.

Victor-Moritz-Goldschmidt Prize to Sandro Jahn



The Victor-Moritz-Goldschmidt Prize was given to Sandro Jahn from the Geoforschungszentrum Potsdam. Sandro was honored for his fundamental contributions to the atomistic modeling of the structures and properties of minerals, melts, and fluids. His electronic structure calculations, classical molecular dynamics work, and metadynamics simulations have substantially improved our understanding of the atomic structure, thermodynamics, and transport properties of silicate melts, as well as of the polymorphism of mantle minerals.

Paul-Ramdohr Award to Bastian Joachim



The Paul-Ramdohr Award is an honor bestowed on young graduate and postgraduate students who have given outstanding presentations at annual DMG meetings. Bastian Joachim from the Geoforschungszentrum Potsdam was honored for his talk entitled "Diffusion-controlled growth of monomineralic åkermanite reaction rims in the ternary system CaO-MgO-SiO₂," which he presented at the 2009 DMG meeting in Halle.

At the general assembly of the DMG it was agreed to add two student members to the DMG board. Further, it was reported that the electronic membership catalogue is now available to DMG members (visit www.

dmg-home.de/mitgliedschaft.html) and that the DMG intends to establish a new endowment fund for young female researchers in honor of Beate Mocek. The planning for future meetings is already underway. In 2011, we will meet at the University of Salzburg, together with the German Society of Crystallography (DGK) and the Austrian Mineralogical Society (ÖMG), and in 2012, we look forward to the European Mineralogical Conference at the University of Frankfurt (http://emc2012.uni-frankfurt.de). I hope to meet you at these meetings and wish you all the best for the new year.

Sincerely yours, **Falko Langenhorst**, President

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR THE 2011 DMG AWARDS





The **Abraham-Gottlob-Werner Medal** is the highest honor of the German Mineralogical Society (DMG). It is given in recognition of outstanding mineralogical research (in Silver) or for merit in the promotion of the mineralogical sciences (in Gold).



The **Georg-Agricola Medal in Bronze** recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of technical and applied mineralogy.

The **Victor-Moritz-Goldschmidt Prize** is given to honor outstanding young researchers. Candidates should normally be members of the DMG and be younger than 39 years of age.

Nominations for the DMG awards should include the curriculum vitae and publications list of the candidate as well as a cover letter outlining the candidate's qualifications. Further information on the nomination requirements are on the DMG home page: www.dmg-home.de. Please submit your nominations by February 18, 2011, to Rainer Altherr, Institute of Geosciences, University of Heidelberg, Im Neuenheimer Feld 234-236, D-69120 Heidelberg, Germany; e-mail: Rainer.Altherr@geow.uni-heidelberg.de.

ELEMENTS DECEMBER 2010