

Meteoritical Society

http://meteoriticalsociety.org

2012 ANNUAL MEETING

The 75th annual meeting of the Meteoritical Society will be held in Cairns, in the far north of Queensland, Australia, at the Cairns Convention Centre in 2012. The organizers invite you to attend the meeting and visit our city. Cairns, located close to the Great Barrier Reef and tropical rainforests, will make a spectacular location for our conference. The meeting will be held on August 12–17, which is in the dry season of the tropics.





We expect to have a wide variety of interesting scientific sessions, and we are also looking at

running a field trip to notable craters in Australia. We are still in the planning stages, so please let us know if you are interested in participating. Full details as given in the first announcement are available on the LPI website, www.lpi.usra.edu, and more information is available on the local website, http://shrimp.anu.edu.au/metsoc2012. For information not available on the websites, please contact organizer Trevor Ireland at Trevor.Ireland@anu.edu.au.

We look forward to seeing you in Cairns in 2012.

STUDENT TRAVEL AWARDS

Over 40 students attending the annual meeting of the society in Greenwich, UK, in August received travel grants. We are most grateful to the many organizations and society members who contributed generously to the travel grant fund, especially the Barringer Crater Company, NASA (Cosmochemistry Program), the European Space Agency, the Meteoritical Society Endowment Fund, Dr. Lucy McFadden, and an anonymous donor. The awardees are listed below, together with the funding organization.

THE BARRINGER CRATER COMPANY

Alexandra Blinova, University of Alberta • Chelsea Brunner, University of New Mexico • Hana M. Chappell, University of New Mexico • Jangmi Han, University of New Mexico • Hatsumi Ishida, Tohoku University • Nataliya V. Kychan, Institute of Environmental Geochemistry, NAS of Ukraine • Seann J. McKibbin, Australian National University • Heba Tag Elsir Meadni, University of Khartoum • Ghada Mohammed Taha Osman, University of Khartoum • Xuchao Zhao, Institute of Geology and Geophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences

NASA – COSMOCHEMISTRY

Andrew Beck, University of Tennessee, Knoxville • Eve Berger, University of Arizona • Maitrayee Bose, Washington University • Gregory A. Brennecka, Arizona State University • Melanie B. Channon, California Institute of Technology • Kathryn Gardner-Vandy, University of Arizona • Evan Groopman, Washington University • Ellen Harju, University of California, Los Angeles • Katharine Robinson, University of Hawai'i, Manoa • Matthew Sanborn, Arizona State University • Adam Sarafian, University of Georgia • Xiaoyu Shi, University of California, Davis • Rachel L. Smith, University of California, Los Angeles • Samantha E. Smith, Texas Christian University • Devin Schrader, University of Arizona • Driss Takir, University of Tennessee, Knoxville • Myriam Telus, University of Hawai'i, Manoa • Mark Tyra, University of New Mexico • Curtis Williams, Arizona State University

EUROPEAN SPACE AGENCY

Pia Friend, Institut für Geologie • Maartje Hamers, Utrecht University • Sanna Holm, Lund University • Matthew Huber, University of Vienna • Emmanuel Jacquet, Museum National d'Histoire Naturelle de Paris • Anna Losiak, University of Vienna • Sihane Merouane, Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale • Veerle Sterken, Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik

METEORITICAL SOCIETY ENDOWMENT FUND

Arbab Ibrahim Arbab, University of Khartoum • Rogelio D. Acevedo, Centro Austral de Investigaciones Cientificas, Argentina • Hasnaa Chennaoui Aoudjehane, Université Hassan II, Ain Chock, Morocco • Kuljeet K. Marhas, Physical Research Laboratory, India • Jayanta K. Pati, University of Allahabad, India • Vira P. Semenenko, Institute of Environmental Geochemisty, NAS of Ukraine • Pablo Munayco Solarzano, Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos, Brasil

INTERNATIONAL METEORITE COLLECTORS ASSOCIATION – BRIAN MASON TRAVEL AWARD

Florian J. Zurfluh, Institut für Geologie, University of Bern

Brian Mason Award

In 1997, Joel Schiff, the first editor of *Meteorite* magazine, created a travel award in honor of Brian Mason. The award is given to a student attending the annual meeting of the society who submits an abstract that presents clearly explained, exciting results of particular interest to readers of *Meteorite* magazine. The recipient is required to write a popular account of his or her work for the magazine. Since 2008, the award has been generously funded by the International Meteorite Collectors Association.



This year the program committee for the Greenwich meeting selected **Florian J. Zurfluh** as the winner of the Brian Mason Award. Florian is a student at the University of Bern in Switzerland. He submitted an abstract entitled "New insight into the strontium contamination of meteorites," authored by F. J. Zurfluh, B. A.

Hofmann, E. Gnos, U. Eggenberger, I. M. Villa, N. D. Greber, and A. J. T. Jull. This paper focuses on understanding the strontium uptake of meteorites found in hot deserts (Oman).

CALL FOR AWARD NOMINATIONS

Please consider nominating a colleague for one of the society's awards. Nominations should be sent to Secretary Greg Herzog (herzog@rutchem.rutgers.edu) by January 15 (January 31 for the Pellas-Ryder Award). For more information and details on how to submit a nomination for any of these awards, please see the latest Newsletter on the society website or e-mail the secretary.

The society presents a number of awards each year. The **Leonard Medal** honors outstanding contributions to the science of meteoritics and closely allied fields. The **Barringer Medal and Award** recognize outstanding work in the field of impact cratering and/or work that has led to a better understanding of impact phenomena. The **Nier Prize** recognizes outstanding research in meteoritics and closely allied fields by young scientists (under 35). The **Service Award** honors members who have advanced the goals of the Meteoritical Society to promote research and education in meteoritics and planetary science, in ways other than by conducting scientific research. The **Paul Pellas-Graham Ryder Award** is given for the best student paper in planetary science and is awarded jointly by the Meteoritical Society and the Planetary Geology Division of the Geological Society of America.