

# German Mineralogical Society

### www.dmg-home.de

### **ELECTION RESULTS**

Dear Members of the DMG,

Voting for the new Council and committee members closed at the end of November. I would like to thank all of the 371 DMG members who sent their postal ballots. The ballots were counted on December 22, 2011, in the presence of M. Burchard (Council member of DMG) and one other member of the DMG. The results of the elections are as follows, with the number of votes in parentheses:

Vice-president for 2012 and designated president for 2013–2014 – Astrid Holzheid (318)

Secretary (2012–2013) – Franz Michael Meyer (338)

Treasurer (2012-2013) - Jochen Hoefs (334)

#### **ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

(2012-2013) - Dorrit Jacob (120)

(2013–2014) – Monika Koch-Müller (162)

STUDENTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

(2012-2013) - Adrian Fiege (42)

(2013–2014) – Christopher Giel (42)

EJM CHIEF EDITOR (2012-2013) - Reto Gieré (308)

News Editor Elements (2012–2013) – Michael Burchard (326)

EDITOR GMIT (2012–2013) – Klaus-Dieter Grevel (321)

DGK Liaison Officer (2012–2013) – Ulrich Bismayer (322)

VICE DGK LIAISON OFFICER (2012–2013) – Carsten Paulmann (311)

## VICE-CHAIRPERSONS 2012 AND DESIGNATED CHAIRPERSONS 2013–2014 FOR THE FOLLOWING SECTIONS:

Chemistry, Physics and Crystallography of Minerals – Christoph Berthold (43)

Geochemistry - Stefan Jung (83)

Petrology and Petrophysics - Harald Behrens (118)

Applied and Environmental Mineralogy – Gert H. Klöss (55)

### **COMMITTEES**

Abraham-Gottlob-Werner Medal for 2013-2014 – Hans Keppler, Walter Maresch, Gregor Markl, Klaus Mezger, Carsten Münker, Andrew Putnis, Wolfgang Schmahl (323)

Viktor-Moritz-Goldschmidt Prize for 2013–2014 – Michael Bau, Susanne Faulhaber, Marcus Nowak, Wolf U. Reimold, Heinz-Günter Stosch (317)

Georg-Agricola Medal for 2013–2014 – Cornelia Boberski, Jürgen M. Göske, Thomas Holzapfel, Hans J. Kleebe, Klaus Nickel (296)

Teaching and University Affairs for 2012–2013 – Lutz Hecht, Patrick O'Brien, Burkhard Schmidt, Roland Stalder (304)

I congratulate the newly elected members of the DMG Council and also thank all resigning Council members for their efforts and commitment to the DMG. I wish you all the best for 2012 and hope to see you at the annual DMG / EMC 2012 meeting in Frankfurt.

Yours sincerely,

Rainer Altherr, President



### 7<sup>th</sup> EUROPEAN CONFERENCE ON MINERALOGY AND SPECTROSCOPY 2011

The 7<sup>th</sup> European Conference on Mineralogy and Spectroscopy was held in Potsdam (Germany) on 4–7 September 2011. The meeting was organized under the chair of Prof. Monika Koch-Müller from the Helmholtz Centre Potsdam, GFZ German Research Centre for Geoscience. About 90 participants from 15 European and 8 non-European countries attended the conference. The scientific program consisted of 6 keynotes, 35 talks, and about 50 posters.

The first day's presentations focused on the spectroscopic properties of minerals at high pressures and high temperatures. The morning session started with A. Hofmeister's keynote lecture, "Understanding Heat Transfer from the Perspective of IR to UV Spectroscopy." In addition, a talk entitled "Elastic Properties of Materials by Brillouin Scattering" was given by S. Speciale.

The second day started with D. Antonangeli's lecture, "Elasticity of Earth's Deep Interior Probed by Inelastic X-ray Scattering." R. Wentzcovitch gave an overview titled "Spin States in the Earth's Mantle." The presentations mainly addressed the speciation and distribution of trace elements in minerals, fluids, and glasses by synchrotron radiation—based methods, e.g. X-ray absorption and X-ray fluorescence.

On the final day, results from optical spectroscopy, Mössbauer spectroscopy, and electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy were presented to the interested audience. M. Taran started with his talk, "Optical Absorption Spectroscopy of Transition Metal Ion–Bearing Minerals at Different Temperatures and Pressures: Some Crystal Chemical and Thermodynamic Aspects." F. Farges continued with a well-received talk entitled "The French Blue Diamond: How Spectroscopy Revealed an Unsuspected Masterpiece."

Each day, the committee elected the best poster presentation by an early-career scientist. The awardees were P. Kristova, M. Lastussari, and C. Aparicio. Congratulations!

Finally, the Sapienza Università di Roma was announced as host for the 8<sup>th</sup> European Conference on Mineralogy and Spectroscopy, which will be held in 2015.

### Anke Watenphul and Manuela Borchert

Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, Hamburg, Germany

