### SOCIETY NEWS

### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS THANKED**

Many thanks to all those members who are serving on the Society's committees this year. We have listed their names below, with the names of the committee chairs in bold. Without the generous help of these members, the Society could not function. We greatly appreciate their help.

Committees	Men	abers for 2012	Term ends
Leonard Medal	McCoy, Tim	Smithsonian Institution	2012
and Nier Prize	Alexander, Conel	Carnegie Institution of Washington	2013
	Palme, Herbert	Senckenberg Museum Frankfurt	2014
	Robert, François Kita, Noriko	Muséum d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris University of Wisconsin–Madison	2015 2016
Barringer Award	Morgan, Joanna	Imperial College London	2012
	Plescia, Jeff	Johns Hopkins University	2013
	Cohen, Barbara Crosta, Alvaro	NASA Marshall Space Flight Center University of Campinas–UNICAMP	2014 2015
Pellas-Ryder	Lauretta, Dante	University of Arizona	2012
Award	Williams, Dave (GS)	Arizona State University	2012
	Anderson, Bob (GS)	Columbia University	2013
	Kattenhorn, Simon (GS)		2013
	Trieloff, Mario	University of Heidelberg	2013
	Downes, Hilary	Birkbeck College	2014
McKay Award	<b>Ciesla, Fred</b> Norman, Marc	The University of Chicago Australian National University	2012 2012
Nominating	Yamaguchi Akira	Antarctic Meteorite Research Center	2012
	Osinski, Gordon	University of Western Ontario	2012
	Goldstein, Joe	University of Massachusetts	2012
	Kohl, Candace	University of California–San Diego	2012
	<b>Wieler, Rainer</b> Zanda, Brigitte	ETH Zurich Muséum d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris	2012 2012
Nomenclature	Murty, S. V. S.	Physical Research Laboratory	2012
Nomenciature	Herd, Chris	University of Alberta	2012
	Rochette, Pierre	CEREGE, CNRS Aix-Marseille	2013
	Smith, Caroline	Natural History Museum, London	2013
	Haack, Henning	University of Copenhagen	2014
	Mostefaoui, Smail	Muséum d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris	2014
	Welten, Kees	University of California, Berkeley	2014
	Greenwood, Richard	The Open University	2015
	Ruzicka, Alex	Portland State University Smithsonian Institution	2015 2015
	Welzenbach, Linda Mikouchi, Takashi	University of Tokyo	2013
Endowment	Goldstein, Joseph	University of Massachusetts	2012
Lindowinein	Reimold, Uwe	Humboldt-Universitaet Berlin	2012
	Caffee, Marc	Purdue University	2013
	Barringer, Drew	The Barringer Crater Company	2014
	Warren, Paul	University of California, Los Angeles	2014
Audit	Davis, Andrew	The University of Chicago	2012
	Taylor, Susan	CRREL, Hanover, New Hampshire	2013
	Wadhwa, Mini	Arizona State University	2013
Publications	Dauphas, Nicholas	The University of Chicago	2012
	Goodrich, Cyrena	Planetary Science Institute	2012
	Nittler, Larry	Carnegie Institution of Washington	2013
	Pack, Andreas	Georg-August-Universitaet	2013
	Flynn, George Mikouchi, Takashi	SUNY–Plattsburgh University of Tokyo	2014 2014
Joint	Bar-Matthews, Mira	Geological Survey of Israel	2013
Publications	(GS) Grossman, Jeff (MS)	NASA	2013
	Humayun, Munir (MS)		2013
	Salters, Vince (GS)	Florida State University	2013
	Wesolowski, Dave (GS)	Oak Ridge National Laboratory	2013
	Zanda, Brigitte (MS)	Muséum d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris	2013
	Bland, Phil	Curtin University	2012
	Kunihiro, Takuya	Okayama University	2013
	Lebofsky, Larry	University of Arizona	2014
	Ruzicka, Alex	Portland State University	2014
	Strait, Melissa	Alma College Forschungsinstitut und Natur-	2014 2013
	Zipfel, Jutta	Frankfurt am Main	2013

**Congratulations to Hap McSween** on winning the J. Lawrence Smith Medal of the National Academy of Sciences (page 86)

# Société Française de Minéralogie et de Cristallographie

www.sfmc-fr.org

# **MEETING ANNOUNCEMENTS**

## 10<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference of the GFA • 14–16 May 2012

**The French Clay Group (GFA)** will hold its 10<sup>th</sup> annual conference in Limoges (France), on 14–16 May 2012. The meeting will cover fundamental and applied fields in clay science, including natural and synthetic, finely divided materials. The first circular, with instructions for abstract submission, is available online (http://generateur.unilim.fr/gfalimoges2012).



CONTACT: Emmanuel Joussein (emmanuel.joussein@unilim.fr)

#### Serpentine Days • 2-6 September 2012

A new international edition of "Serpentine Days" will be held on 2-6 September 2012. The conference will take place in Porquerolles, a very welcoming island in the south of France in the Mediterranean Sea. The island can easily be reached by daily boat connections. The nearest airports and train stations on the mainland are at Toulon-Hyères. The official conference language for talks and posters will be English. The following session themes, centred on serpentine, will be addressed during the meeting: mineralogy, crystal chemistry, rheology, deformation, geodynamics, thermodynamics, origins of life, primitive planets, and societal implications. The meeting will be sponsored by SFMC and the Deep Carbon Observatory. All efforts will be made to keep costs affordable. Fees will include registration and full board during the conference. Note that the deadline for abstract submission has been brought forward to April 15, 2012. Registration will start on May 15, 2012. Early registration (lower fees) will be possible until June 8, 2012. You'll also find information on the SFMC website: http:// sfmc-fr.org/spip.php?article131.

CONTACT: Gaelle at serpentines2012@sfmc-fr.org

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: M. Andreani (LGL-Lyon), A.-L. Auzende (IMPMC-Paris), I. Daniel (LGL-Lyon), A. Delacour (GET-Toulouse)

