

Meteoritical Society

http://meteoriticalsociety.org

2012 METEORITICAL SOCIETY FELLOWS



Philip Bland (UK/ Australia) – For original and diverse studies of important meteorite problems, helping establish the Western Australia camera network, and contributions to the society



Bernard Marty (France) – For outstanding studies on the noble gases and nitrogen in meteorites and Genesis samples, and for contributions to the society



Christine Floss (USA) – For superior ion microprobe studies of isotopes and trace elements in diverse meteorites and in presolar grains, as well as for contributions to the society



Akira Yamaguchi (Japan) – For major contributions to our understanding of the petrogenesis of achondrites, leadership in the collection/curation of Antarctic meteorites at NIPR, and contributions to the society



Makoto Kimura (Japan) – For outstanding studies of the mineralogy and petrology of primitive chondrites and of highpressure minerals in shocked meteorites, and for his contributions to the society



Edward Young (USA) – For significant studies of C, O, and Mg isotopes in meteorites and protoplanetary disks, for studies of the hydrology of asteroids, and for contributions to

the understanding of isotopic fractionation during evaporation of silicates



Thorsten Kleine (Germany) – For his fundamental studies of the Hf–W system and the chronology of the early Solar System



Hisayoshi Yurimoto (Japan) – For innovative isotopic studies of chondritic components, particularly CAIs and fluid inclusions, and the mentoring of many students



Yangting Lin (China) – For contributions to the understanding of the origins of chondritic components, most notably presolar grains and CAIs, and the petrology of Martian

meteorites, for his role in the Chinese Antarctic meteorite collection program, and for his contributions to the society



Jutta Zipfel (Germany) – For significant research on a range of differentiated meteorites and on planetary missions to understand igneous processes on asteroids and Mars,

for work on meteorite curation and classification, and for contributions to the society



Katharina Lodders (USA) – For the application of thermodynamics to our understanding of Solar System processes and the compilation of huge amounts of Solar

System data so that it is readily accessible to scientists

The Meteoritical Society wishes Marc Norman great success as executive editor of *Geochimica et Cosmoschimica Acta*. Read about his appointment on page 186.

NOMENCLATURE COMMITTEE REPORT

The purpose of the Nomenclature Committee (NomCom) is to approve new meteorite names, and to establish guidelines and make decisions regarding the naming of meteorites. We are also charged with keeping the community apprised of new meteorites through the *Meteoritical Bulletin* and the Meteoritical Bulletin Database (www.lpi.usra.edu/meteor/metbull.php). Since the last report, *Meteoritical Bulletin* (*MB*) 99 has been completed; it contains 1075 meteorites, 468 of which are non-Antarctic. *MB*99 will be published shortly in the new online format. A further 1509 meteorites have been approved thus far for *MB*100.

The type specimen (TS) repository review process is underway, with curators of TS repositories now required to update their contact information in an online database. Any new meteorite submission will not be considered if the information about the TS repository listed in the submission is incomplete.

Our guidelines for meteorite nomenclature continue to be revised to keep up with the times. A recent addition is a section entitled "Meteorites Found on Celestial Bodies Other than Earth"! The complete, up-to-date guidelines can be found at www.meteoriticalsociety.org/bulletin/nc-guidelines.htm.

Please do not hesitate to contact me (herd@ ualberta.ca) with questions or concerns about NomCom and especially with suggestions for improvement. As always, essential information on meteorite nomenclature, instructions, and the template for reporting new meteorites can be found on our homepage: http://meteoriticalsociety.org/simple_template.cfm?code=pub_bulletin. A list of current NomCom members can be found at www.meteoriticalsociety.org/bulletin/TermExpirations2011.htm.

Chris HerdChair of the Nomenclature Committee



ELEMENTS 226 June 2012